Outlander
Related Images (32)
View All

2011 Mitsubishi Outlander: Subtle refinements for an established winner

Beautiful and versatile, room for 5 or 7, and available Super All-Wheel Control

MISSISSAUGA, Ont. (October, 2010) – The 2011 Mitsubishi Outlander remains a standard bearer for inspirational styling, advanced technology and exceptional value. Fresh from a major redesign in 2010 – which included new styling, more horsepower and better fuel efficiency – Outlander for 2011 is for the most part carry-over in terms of mechanical features and equipment levels. Consistently embraced by Canadians and coming off an excellent sales year, the new 2011 Outlander promises to be an important factor in the fast growing and extremely competitive compact SUV segment.

Outlander ES, LS or XLS: Three very well equipped choices

The 2011 Outlander is available in three trim levels and four drivetrain combinations. Outlander ES is the most affordable model, comes in both 2WD and 4WD versions and is powered exclusively by Mitsubishi’s excellent 2.4 litre engine. Outlander LS offers more standard features and is equipped with both V6 power and driver selectable electronic four wheel drive (4WD). Outlander XLS, the most luxurious Outlander, also features V6 power plus the additional security and control of Super All-Wheel Control (S-AWC). Both the LS and XLS models include a fold away third row seat allowing up to seven passengers. And new for 2011, as standard equipment on all models, is a Bluetooth® 2.0 hands-free cellular phone interface with streaming audio and USB input with voice control capabilities (artist, album, playlist or genre). Outlander for 2011: value and technology, performance and safety, all in a beautifully executed package.

Powertrain – A perfect combination for whatever your needs

Outlander ES is available in both 2WD (front wheel drive) and 4WD versions and is powered by Mitsubishi’s all aluminum 2.4 litre, DOHC, MIVEC 4 cylinder engine producing 168 hp @ 6000 and 167 lb-ft of torque @ 4100. This smooth, fuel efficient powerplant is coupled to Mitsubishi’s acclaimed continuously variable Sportronic® automatic transmission (CVT). Outlander ES competes with other 4-cylinder offerings like Honda CR-V, Toyota RAV4 and Nissan Rogue.

LS models feature the 3.0 litre, SOHC, MIVEC V6 producing 230 hp @ 6250 rpm and 215 lb-ft of torque @ 3750 rpm. This sophisticated engine is mated to a six-speed Sportronic® automatic transmission. LS models are equipped with Mitsubishi’s 4WD electronic All-Wheel Control system (AWC) – the driver can select 4WD at any time by means of a centre console mounted control knob – which combined with Active Stability Control (ASC) and Traction Control Logic (TLC) ensures improved grip and safety in all road and weather conditions.

XLS models also feature the 3.0 litre, V6 engine with the six-speed Sportronic® automatic transmission, but also include magnesium steering wheel mounted shifter paddles for increased driver involvement. In addition, XLS models are equipped with Super All-Wheel Control (S-AWC) with Active Front Differential (AFD). Outlander S-AWC with AFD (where AFD functions as an electronic limited slip differential) is an advanced vehicle dynamics system that analyses and reacts to driver intent in real time. This proprietary system regulates drive torque from left to right and from front to rear depending on vehicle dynamics and road conditions. The end result is superior traction and driving control at all times, on all surfaces, which adds an unprecedented level of safety and security.

On February 11, 2009, the Lancer Evolution version of Super All-Wheel Control was named best new technology by the Automotive Journalists Association of Canada (AJAC). S-AWC works in conjunction with Active Stability Control (ASC) and Traction Control Logic (TCL).

Suspension, Wheels and Steering – The comfort and handling of a sedan

Outlander features a MacPherson strut type independent front suspension which also employs a strut tower bar to enhance lateral rigidity for improved steering response. The rear suspension is an advanced multilink and coil system that provides an excellent balance of handling and ride comfort. Stabilizer bars are used at both the front and rear. Steering is power assisted and uses a rack and pinion system with 3.16 turns lock to lock. Brakes are large ventilated discs in the front and solid discs in the rear. Outlander ES and LS feature 16-inch alloy wheels with 215/70 R16 tires. XLS models feature attractive, seven spoke, 18 inch alloy wheels with 225/55 R18 all-season tires.

Chassis & Safety – Mitsubishi is a world leader

Built on Mitsubishi’s global performance platform, Outlander’s rigid unibody makes extensive use of high strength steel which allows for sport oriented suspension tuning. This RISE (Reinforced Impact Safety Evolution) unibody structure disperses energy loads during side and rear collisions and controls distortion, enhancing occupant protection and helping to protect the fuel system in the event of a rear impact. Safety equipment includes an advanced dual front air bag supplemental restraint system (SRS) with occupant sensors, standard front seat-mounted side-impact air bags and side curtain air bags (front and second row), energy-absorbing head protection interior pillars; child safety locks and LATCH system for CRS. All Outlander models feature an Anti-lock Brake System (ABS) with Electronic Brake-force Distribution (EBD) and Brake Assist System (BAS) as well as Active Stability (ASC), Traction Control Logic and a Tire Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS).

Exterior and Interior – Assertive styling and well-appointed practicality

The distinctive 2011 Outlander continues to reflect Mitsubishi’s evolving corporate look. A dramatic front end mesh grille, hood and fenders reflect the shark nose design originally inspired by jet fighter air intakes. A stylish rear quarter panel fascia, headlamps and outer door mirrors complete the look. XLS models also feature a chrome surround on the mesh grille, as well as attractive, seven spoke, 18 inch alloy wheels.

Outlander offers ample room for five or seven in LS and XLS models, which feature a standard underfloor, stowable compact third row seat that folds flat into the floor when not needed. The five seat ES models have an under floor storage compartment. The second row seat moves fore and aft to optimize passenger room in the LS and XLS, and features 60/40 split fold-and-tumble seat backs that expand cargo capacity. Additionally, the second row seatbacks recline. Another segment first is Outlander’s flap-fold tailgate, which easily folds out for loading large packages. Moreover, when lowered, the tailgate can serve as a seat, with a capacity of 200 kg (440 lbs). Overall cargo volume behind the front seats measures 2056 litres (72.6 cu. ft.). With the second row seats up, cargo room measures 1025 litres (36.2 cu. ft.), and 422 litres (14.9 cu. ft.) behind the third row seats on LS and XLS models. ES models can tow up to 680 kg or 1500 lbs, while the LS and XLS, which feature the V6 engine, an increased capacity radiator, and an automatic transmission cooler can tow up to 1,588 kg or 3500 lbs.

Comfort & Convenience

Outlander standard equipment includes: New for 2011 – Bluetooth® 2.0 hands-free cellular phone interface with streaming audio and USB input with voice control (artist, album, playlist or genre) • illuminated vanity mirrors • intelligent washer • short pole antenna • heated front seats • rear cargo cover • 140-watt CD/MP3 player with 6 speakers, digital signal processor and speed compensated volume and equalization control; high grade seat fabric (ES/LS) • MP3/Auxilary stereo input jack • manual air conditioning • power central door and tailgate locks • power windows with auto up/down drivers switch • steering wheel mounted cruise control • steering wheel audio remote control switches • leather wrapped steering wheel and shift knob • two 12 volt accessory outlets • anti theft engine immobilizer • anti theft security alarm system • ambient lighting monitor • cargo tie down utility hooks • remote fuel lid opener • FAST-key entry system with panic alarm (LS & XLS) • automatic climate control; leather seating surfaces; power adjustable driver’s seat; Sportronic® steering wheel paddle shifters; rain sensing front wipers (XLS) • 6CD/MP3 in dash changer (optional on ES/LS; standard on XLS – NA with Navigation package)

Optional Extra Cost Packages

Sun & Sound Package – Std on XLS, Pkg on ES 4WD and LS

  • Sirius® satellite radio with six months complimentary service
  • 710-Watt (max) Rockford-Fosgate Punch® premium sound system with 9 speakers including a 10 inch dual-voice coil subwoofer, custom 20 litre sub-enclosure, digital signal processor, speed compensated volume and equalization
  • Power glass sunroof with sunshade
  • 6CD/MP3 in-dash changer

Navigation Package – Pkg on XLS

  • 40 GB HDD Navigation which includes a10 GB Digital Music server
  • Real-Time traffic information
  • Diamond Lane Guidance system
  • Auxiliary video input jack
  • Reverse rear view camera system

Mitsubishi “10-5-5” Warranty – Best Backed Cars in the World

Mitsubishi cars and sport utility vehicles are backed by a comprehensive “10-5-5” warranty. The powertrain is covered by a 10 year or 160,000 km limited warranty. The new vehicle limited warranty is covered for 5 years or 100,000 km. Lancer Evolution, Lancer Ralliart and Lancer Sportback Ralliart are backed by a comprehensive "5-3-5" warranty. The powertrain is covered by a 5 year or 100,000 km limited warranty. The new vehicle limited warranty is covered for 3 years or 60,000 km. The program also includes, on all Mitsubishi cars and sport utility vehicles, 24/7 emergency roadside assistance with free towing to the nearest authorized Mitsubishi retailer for warranty related repairs, for 5 years and unlimited km and an anti-corrosion/perforation limited warranty for any body sheet metal panel found to have developed perforation (metal rust-through) due to corrosion in normal use for 5 years and unlimited km.

-30-

Media Contact
John Arnone
Manager, Public Relations

Outlander
Photos connexes (32)
Tout voir
18 nov. 2010 N° d'ID: 13588
Diffusion immédiate

L’Outlander 2011 de Mitsubishi

Élégant et polyvalent, spacieux pour 5 ou 7 personnes et Super contrôle intégral disponible

MISSISSAUGA, Ont. (octobre 2010) – L’Outlander 2011 de Mitsubishi inspire par son style, ses technologies perfectionnées et son rapport qualité/prix exceptionnel. Ayant subi une remise à jour en 2010, incluant un nouveau style, plus de puissance et une meilleure économie d’essence, l’Outlander 2011 est, pour la plupart, le même modèle que l’année dernière en matière de mécanique et d’équipements. Adopté en masse par les Canadiens et sortant d’une année de vente exceptionnelle, l’Outlander promet de devenir un concurrent important au sein du segment concurrentiel en plein essor des VUS compacts.

L’Outlander ES, LS ou XLS : trois choix bien équipés

Les modèles 2011 de l’Outlander incluent trois versions différentes et quatre groupes motopropulseurs. Disponible avec une traction à 2 ou 4 roues motrices, l’Outlander ES est le seul modèle propulsé par un puissant moteur de 2,4 litres de Mitsubishi. L’Outlander LS offre plus de caractéristiques de série, une traction à 4 roues motrices sélectionnables par le conducteur et un moteur V6. Le modèle le plus luxueux, l’Outlander XLS, propose également un moteur V6 et l’option du Super contrôle intégral assurant une adhérence et une sécurité maximales. Les modèles LS et XLS incluent un siège de 3e rangée rabattable permettant d’accueillir jusqu’à 7 passagers. Une nouveauté en 2011, tous les modèles sont munis de série d’une interface Bluetooth® 2.0 mains libres avec audio en transit, prise USB et commandes vocales (artiste, album, liste de lecture ou genre). Les modèles Outlander 2011 en ont pour tous les goûts – raffinement, technologies de pointe, performance et sécurité rassemblés dans un seul et même véhicule élégamment dessiné.

Groupe motopropulseur : une combinaison adaptée à vos besoins

Disponible avec une traction avant ou à 4 RM, l’Outlander ES est propulsé par un moteur en aluminium de 2,4 litres à DACT, MIVEC et 4 cylindres, qui produit une puissance de 168 chevaux à 6 000 tr/min et un couple de 167 lb-pi à 4 100 tr/min. Son moteur souple et puissant est associé à la transmission à variation continue (CVT) Sportronic® primée de Mitsubishi. L’Outlander ES fait concurrence aux autres 4 cylindres du segment, notamment le Honda CR-V, le Toyota RAV4 et le Nissan Rogue.

La version LS est propulsée, quant à elle, par un moteur V6 de 3,0 litres à SACT et MIVEC, produisant une puissance de 230 chevaux à 6 250 tr/min et un couple de 215 lb-pi à 3 750 tr/min. Le moteur sophistiqué de la version LS est associé à une boîte automatique Sportronic® à 6 vitesses. Les modèles LS sont équipés du contrôle électronique intégral de Mitsubishi (AWC) permettant au conducteur de sélectionner le mode à 4 RM en tout temps en appuyant simplement sur la commande située sur la console centrale. Ce système est également combiné au contrôle actif de stabilité et à l’antipatinage logique pour assurer une adhérence et une sécurité maximales, quels que soient l’état des routes ou les conditions météorologiques.

La version XLS est également équipée d’un moteur V6 de 3,0 litres associé à une boîte automatique Sportronic® à 6 vitesses, mais elle offre des palettes de changement de vitesses en alliage de magnésium situées sur le volant, pour une conduite plus active. De plus, les modèles XLS sont équipés du Super contrôle intégral (S-AWC) avec différentiel avant actif. Cette technologie (où le différentiel avant actif agit comme un différentiel électronique à glissement limité) est un système perfectionné qui analyse et réagit aux réactions du conducteur en temps réel. Ce système répartit le couple entre les roues de gauche et les roues de droite et de l’avant vers l’arrière, selon la dynamique du véhicule et les conditions routières. On obtient ainsi une tenue de route et un contrôle inégalé en tout temps et sur toutes les surfaces, ce qui assure un niveau de sécurité incroyable.

Le 11 février 2009, la version du Super Contrôle Intégral de la Lancer Evolution a été nommée meilleure nouvelle technologie par l’Association des journalistes automobiles du Canada (AJAC). S AWC fonctionne conjointement avec le contrôle actif de stabilité et l’antipatinage logique.

Suspension, roues et direction : l’Outlander se conduit comme une berline

L’Outlander comporte une suspension avant indépendante, à jambe de force MacPherson. La barre anti-rapprochement de la suspension avant indépendante accroît la rigidité latérale, ce qui assure une réponse précise de la direction. La suspension arrière à bras multiples perfectionnés avec ressorts hélicoïdaux offre une excellente maniabilité et une conduite agréable. Des barres stabilisatrices sont utilisées à l’avant et à l’arrière et la direction assistée à pignon et crémaillère offre 3,16 tours de butée à butée. Les freins à disques larges sont ventilés à l’avant et pleins à l’arrière. Les Outlander ES et LS sont chaussés de roues en alliage de 16 pouces et de pneus 215/70 R16 tandis que les modèles XLS arborent fièrement des roues en alliage de 18 pouces à sept rayons et des pneus 225/55 R18 toutes saisons qui accentuent l’apparence.

Châssis et sécurité : Mitsubishi est un chef de file mondial

Construite sur la plateforme globale des véhicules de performance de Mitsubishi, la carrosserie monocoque très rigide de l’Outlander est faite en grande partie en acier très résistant à la traction. Cela permet d’y adapter une suspension sportive. La structure monocoque RISE disperse les charges d’énergie et contrôle la déformation du véhicule en cas de collision arrière ou latérale, afin d’accroître la sécurité des occupants. Ce concept aide également à protéger le système d’alimentation du carburant en cas de collision arrière. Les équipements de sécurité incluent deux coussins gonflables avant perfectionnés avec capteurs de présence des occupants, des coussins gonflables latéraux incrustés dans les sièges avant, deux coussins gonflables latéraux de type rideau (pour la 1re et la 2e rangées), des piliers intérieurs à absorption d’énergie qui protègent la tête des occupants, des verrous arrière empêchant l’ouverture accidentelle des portières arrière et un dispositif LATCH servant à fixer les sièges pour enfant. Tous les Outlander sont équipés d’un système de freinage antiblocage (ABS) avec répartition électronique de la force du freinage et assistance au freinage d’urgence, du contrôle actif de stabilité, de l’antipatinage logique et d’un système de surveillance de la pression des pneus.

Extérieur et intérieur – un style agressif et des commodités de luxe

Remarquable, l’Outlander 2011 continue de refléter la nouvelle image de conception de la marque. En effet, il est doté d’une calandre en maille, d’un capot et d’ailes évoquant le style « nez de requin » inspiré par les avions de chasse. L’arrière et les ailes élégantes, les phares et les rétroviseurs extérieurs complètent le style formidable du véhicule. Les modèles XLS présentent également un boîtier de calandre en maille chromée et des jantes en alliage de 18 pouces à sept rayons.

L’Outlander est assez spacieux pour accueillir confortablement cinq passagers ou même sept, dans le cas du LS et du XLS, et offre, de série, un siège d’appoint à la 3e rangée rabattable dans le plancher. Un compartiment de rangement sous le plancher est également inclus sur les ES à cinq places. Le siège de la 2e rangée dans le LS et le XLS s’avance et se recule pour donner plus de place aux passagers. Les dossiers basculants, séparés à 60/40, se rabattent et basculent pour agrandir l’espace de chargement. De plus, les dossiers de la 2e rangée s’inclinent. Le hayon rabattable facilitant le chargement des articles de grandes tailles de l’Outlander est aussi une exclusivité dans ce segment. Le hayon rabaissé, pouvant supporter 200 kg (440 lb), peut également servir de siège lors de vos sorties en plein air. Derrière les sièges avant, on mesure un espace de chargement de 2 056 litres (72,6 pi3). Lorsque les sièges de la 2e rangée sont relevés, l’espace de chargement peut accueillir 1 025 litres (36,2 pi3) et 422 litres (14,9 pi3) derrière le siège de la 3e rangée sur les modèles LS et XLS. Le ES peut remorquer 680 kg ou 1 500 lb, et les LS et XLS, équipés d’un moteur V6, d’un radiateur à haut rendement et d’un refroidisseur de transmission automatique, peuvent remorquer 1 588 kg ou 3 500 lb.

Confort et commodité

L’équipement de série de l’Outlander inclut : nouveauté en 2011 - interface Bluetooth® 2.0 mains libres avec audio en transit, prise USB et commandes vocales (artiste, album, liste de lecture ou genre) • miroirs de courtoisie éclairés • lave-glace intelligent • petite antenne de toit • sièges avant chauffants • cache-bagages • chaîne audio de 140 watts à lecteur CD/MP3, 6 haut-parleurs, processeur de signal numérique, volume autoréglable selon la vitesse et égaliseur; sellerie en tissu de haute qualité (ES/LS) • prise d’entrée stéréo auxiliaire/MP3 • climatisation manuelle • verrouillage électrique des portières et du hayon • glaces à commandes électriques avec ouverture/fermeture automatique côté conducteur • commandes du régulateur de vitesse sur le volant • commandes audio sur le volant • volant et pommeau du levier de vitesses gainés de cuir • deux prises de courant de 12 volts • antidémarreur antivol • alarme de sécurité • diffuseur d’éclairage d’ambiance • crochets utilitaires d’arrimage d’espace de chargement • ouverture à distance du volet du réservoir d’essence • clé F.A.S.T. et démarrage avec alarme panique (LS et XLS) • régulateur automatique de la température; sièges en cuir; siège du conducteur à réglages électriques; palettes de changement de vitesses Sportronic® sur le volant; essuie-glaces automatiques avant (XLS)• changeur de 6 CD/MP3 dans la planche de bord (en option sur les ES/LS, de série sur le XLS – pas disponible avec le groupe navigation).

Groupes d’options supplémentaires

Groupe Soleil et musique : de série sur le XLS, en option sur le ES à 4 RM et le LS

  • Radio satellite Sirius® avec abonnement gratuit de 6 mois
  • Chaîne audio de luxe Rockford Fosgate Punch® de 710 watts avec 9 haut-parleurs, incluant un haut-parleur d’extrêmes graves de 10 pouces à double bobine niché dans son boîtier de 20 litres fait sur mesure), un processeur du signal numérique, le volume autoréglable selon la vitesse et un égaliseur
  • Toit ouvrant électrique avec pare-soleil
  • Changeur de 6CD/MP3 dans la planche de bord

Groupe Navigation – Groupe sur le XLS

  • Système de navigation à disque dur de 40 Go et serveur de musique numérique de 10 Go
  • Informations sur la circulation en temps réel
  • Système de guidage Diamond LaneMC
  • Prise d’entrée vidéo auxiliaire
  • Caméra de recul

La garantie « 10-5-5 » de Mitsubishi : les voitures les mieux protégées au monde

Chaque voiture et véhicule utilitaire sport de Mitsubishi est couvert par une garantie complète « 10-5-5 ». Le groupe motopropulseur est couvert par une garantie limitée de 10 ans ou 160 000 km. La garantie limitée sur le véhicule neuf couvre tout le véhicule pendant 5 ans ou 100 000 km. La Lancer Evolution, la Lancer Ralliart et la Lancer Sportback Ralliart sont couvertes par une garantie complète « 5-3-5 ». Le groupe motopropulseur est couvert par une garantie limitée de 5 ans ou 100 000 km. La garantie limitée sur le véhicule neuf est valide pendant 3 ans ou 60 000 km. Chaque voiture et véhicule utilitaire sport de Mitsubishi reçoit également l’assistance routière d’urgence 24/24 h, incluant le remorquage sans frais, jusqu’au concessionnaire agréé de Mitsubishi le plus proche pour des réparations couvertes par la garantie, pendant 5 ans et sans limites de kilométrage. De plus, les panneaux de la carrosserie ont une garantie limitée de 5 ans, sans limites de kilométrage, contre la corrosion ou la perforation (rouille causant un trou dans la tôle) apparaissant dans des situations normales d’utilisation.

-30-

Personne-ressource des médias
Michelle Lee-Gracey
Mitsubishi Motor Sales of Canada
Manager, Public Relations
michelle.lee-gracey@mmcan.ca