Lancer
Related Images (13)
View All
Jan 18, 2007 ID: 411
Immediate Release

Mitsubishi’s 2008 Lancer: Class-Setting Performance and Value

All-new Lancer Debuts in Canada

MISSISSAUGA, Ont. – The all-new 2008 Mitsubishi Lancer compact sport sedan is a break-through vehicle that blends cutting-edge performance, best-in class styling, advanced technology and state-of-the-art safety at a value unsurpassed in the auto industry.

The new-generation Lancer models, which arrive in Mitsubishi dealerships throughout Canada in early 2007, evoke the bold, dynamic lines first seen when Mitsubishi unveiled the Concept-X in 2005. The stunning Concept-X previewed not only the next generation Mitsubishi compact sport sedan, but also a new design language to convey an unmistakable brand identity. A “shark-nosed” front end inspired by jet fighter air intakes, a distinct wedge-like profile and crisp, taut lines highlight the Lancer’s exciting new design.

The 2008 Lancer is based on a new performance-engineered global platform that also forms the foundation of the all-new Mitsubishi Outlander SUV and will underpin the next-generation high-performance Lancer Evolution model. Lancer’s comprehensive safety package provides seven standard air bags, including the first driver’s knee air bag in a Mitsubishi model.

The new-generation Lancer’s standard new 2.0-liter DOHC MIVEC 4-cylinder engine is among the most powerful standard engines in its segment, with 152 hp at 6,000 rpm (Federal Tier 2, Bin 5 emissions) and 146 lb.-ft. of peak torque at 4,250 rpm.

The 2008 Mitsubishi Lancer is available in three levels of trim and driving dynamics: DE, ES and the sport-tuned GTS. The Lancer ES model projects a refined appearance with 5-spoke 16-in. alloy wheels, color-keyed door handles and mirrors and a chrome grille surround. The GTS’s styling is even more aggressive than on other Lancer models, with 10-spoke 18-in. alloy wheels, front and side air dams, standard fog lights, a rear spoiler and a chrome tailpipe tip.

First Mitsubishi in North America with a CVT

All Lancer models come with a standard crisp-shifting 5-speed manual transmission. The new-generation Lancer is the first Mitsubishi in North America to offer an optional continuously variable transmission (CVT) in place of a conventional automatic transmission. When equipped with the CVT, the Lancer GTS exclusively features a 6-step Sportronic® mode that allows the driver to manually control transmission operation using magnesium steering wheel paddle shifters – a first in the segment.

In contrast to a conventional automatic transmission, which uses fixed gear ratios, a CVT operates on a pulley system that allows an infinite variability between highest and lowest available ratios with no discrete steps or shifts. A CVT smoothly adapts to changing vehicle speeds, allowing the engine speed to remain at its level of peak efficiency, helping to improve both fuel economy and exhaust emissions.

International Driving Character

The new Lancer is built on a longer wheelbase and wider track – but with a slightly shorter overall length than the previous model. A 58.4 mm (2.3-inch) increase in both the front and rear track dimensions – now 1,529 mm (60.2 in.) – sets the stage for the new Lancer’s solid, stable handling capability. Wheelbase was lengthened to 2,634 mm (103.7 in.) from 2,598 mm (102.3 in.), and overall width is increased from 1,694 mm (66.7 in.) to 1,763 mm (69.4 in.) Overall length, however, has been reduced by 15.2 mm (0.6-in.), giving the new Lancer a more road-hugging attitude that is especially evident with the GTS model’s 18-in. wheels.

Lancer’s highly rigid unibody body structure, which makes extensive use of high-strength steel, allows for sport-oriented suspension tuning while also providing a smooth, compliant ride. Compared to the previous-generation Lancer, torsional rigidity has been increased by 56 percent, and bending rigidity is up by 50 percent – increases that exceed body stiffness measurements of even the previous Lancer Evolution IX.

Mitsubishi refined the new Lancer’s suspension calibration to deliver an international driving character more commonly found in expensive European sport sedans. Front suspension employs strut tower bars that enhance lateral rigidity for precise steering response. The Lancer’s sophisticated new multi-link rear suspension is a major factor in providing ride and handling characteristics that might be expected from a more expensive vehicle. Using separate coil springs and shock absorbers helps maximize trunk room. Lancer DE and ES models feature standard 16-in. wheels (steel on DE, alloy on ES) with 205/60 R16 tires.

The 2008 Lancer GTS – with the standard 5-speed manual transmission or the optional CVT – combines a sport-tuned suspension – including different stabilizer bars and spring/shock damping rates – with 18-inch wheels and 215/45 R18 tires to make this model an aggressive twisty-road tamer. The GTS’s brakes are the same as used on the larger, heavier Outlander SUV, featuring 11.6-in. (294 mm) vented discs in front and 11.9-in. (302 mm) solid discs in rear.

Comprehensive Safety Package

The 2008 Lancer is built around Mitsubishi’s next-generation Reinforced Impact Safety Evolution (RISE) unibody design. The RISE body structure disperses energy loads during side and rear crashes and controls distortion, enhancing occupant protection and also helping to protect the fuel system during a rear impact.

The 2008 Lancer’s safety package is one of the most comprehensive in the segment and includes an advanced dual front air bag supplemental restraint system (SRS) with occupant sensors, standard front seat-mounted side-impact air bags and side curtain air bags, plus a driver’s knee air bag. The Lancer ES and GTS models include as standard an anti-lock braking system (ABS) with electronic brake-force distribution (EBD), which is available as an option for the DE model. All Lancer models feature a tire pressure monitoring system.

International-Inspired Interior

As with the exterior, the Lancer’s interior is characterized by clean and crisp surfaces free of gimmicks and using high-quality materials and marked by careful attention to detail. Each trim line is distinguished by its own distinct seating materials and interior trim. The overall instrument panel shape and design contribute to a more spacious interior feeling than seen in some competitors. The roomy feeling is no illusion, as the Lancer provides 2,684 litres (94.8 cu. ft.) of passenger space (2,642 litres (93.3 cu. ft.) with the optional sunroof).

Precision-designed detailing on all controls lends a “high-touch,” high-tech feel. The short-stroke switches also impart a feeling of quality and solidity, and audio switches are finished in piano black for an upscale appearance. Metallic-like trim highlights the shifter bezel, and also the steering wheel-mounted audio and cruise controls switches in the ES and GTS models.

Premium In-Car Technology

The optional Sun and Sound Package that is available for the GTS models combines a power glass sunroof and a 650-watt (max.), Rockford-Fosgate® Premium Audio system – the most powerful factory-installed audio system in the segment.

Similar to the option offered for the new-generation 2007 Outlander SUV, the audiophile-quality Rockford-Fosgate system has been custom-tuned for the Lancer’s interior acoustics to reproduce all types of music with remarkable clarity and power. The system includes a 6-CD in-dash head unit with MP3 playback capability and features an audio input jack to connect an iPod® or similar media player. The Lancer’s Rockford-Fosgate system plays through nine speakers in seven positions, including a trunk-mounted subwoofer.

The sport-tuned GTS is also the technology leader of the Lancer line, featuring a standard with a Bluetooth® wireless technology cell phone interface system with voice recognition microphone for hands-free calling (available for the ES model). Moreover, the GTS model is exclusively available with the FAST Key (Freehand Advanced Security Transmitter) entry system. FAST Key allows the driver to unlock the vehicle simply by having the remote in a pocket or purse and grasping the handle on either of the front doors or the trunk.

Lancer: The Intelligent Choice

Mitsubishi designed the new-generation Lancer with a focus on reduced operating costs and increased reliability and durability. For example, replaceable crush boxes used on the front side members can help reduce the repair costs for a light collision. Using a timing chain instead of a belt – as many engines in the segment do – allows for a more compact design, helps ensure reliability and eliminates the need for belt replacement. Iridium-tip spark plugs contribute to lower emissions and help extend major service intervals.

Mitsubishi “10-5-5” Warranty – Best Backed Cars in the World

All Mitsubishi cars and sport utility vehicles are backed by a comprehensive “10-5-5” warranty. The powertrain is covered by a 10 year or 160,000 km limited warranty. The new vehicle limited warranty covers from bumper to bumper for 5 years or 100,000 km and the body panels have a 7 year or 160,000 km anticorrosion/perforation limited warranty. The program also includes 24/7 emergency roadside assistance with free towing to the nearest authorized Mitsubishi retailer for warranty related repairs, for 5 years and unlimited km.

-30-

Media Contact
John Arnone
Manager, Public Relations

Lancer
Photos connexes (13)
Tout voir
18 janv. 2007 N° d'ID: 411
Diffusion immédiate

La Lancer 2008 de Mitsubishi

en tête de catégorie

La toute nouvelle Lancer fait son entrée au Canada

MISSISSAUGA, Ont. – La toute nouvelle Lancer 2008 de Mitsubishi, une berline sport compacte, est une voiture avant-gardiste qui allie des performances étonnantes, une apparence remarquable, des technologies perfectionnées et une sécurité de pointe. Enfin, la valeur offerte par cette auto est inégalée dans l’industrie automobile.

Les modèles Lancer nouvelle génération, qui arriveront chez les concessionnaires Mitsubishi canadiens au début de l’année 2007, adoptent les lignes dynamiques et audacieuses de l’étonnant Concept-X de Mitsubishi, dévoilé en 2005. L’éblouissant Concept X laissait présager de l’apparence de la nouvelle génération des berlines sport compactes de Mitsubishi tout en donnant un avant-goût de la nouvelle identité de la marque projetée par le design. L’avant en « nez de requin », les prises d’air inspirées par celles des avions de chasse, un profil coupé au couteau et des lignes tranchantes contribuent tous à la nouvelle apparence avant-gardiste de la Lancer.

La Lancer 2008 est construite sur une nouvelle plateforme globale qu’elle partage avec le nouveau VUS Outlander de Mitsubishi et qui sera également utilisée pour la prochaine Lancer Evolution haute performance. L’équipement de sécurité complet de la Lancer inclut 7 coussins gonflables de série, y compris un coussin gonflable pour les genoux du conducteur, une première pour un modèle Mitsubishi.

La nouvelle Lancer est propulsée par l’un des moteurs le plus puissant de sa catégorie, le moteur MIVEC à 4 cylindres de 2,0 litres à DACT. Il produit une puissance de 152 chevaux à 6 000 tr/min (émissions fédérales Tier II, Niveau 5 et un couple de 146 lb-pi. à 4 250 tr/min.

La Lancer 2008 de Mitsubishi est disponible en trois modèles dynamiques : la DE, la ES et la GTS sportive. Grâce à ses roues de 16 po en alliage à 5 rayons, ses poignées de portières et ses rétroviseurs de couleur assortie ainsi que l’encadrement chromée de sa calandre, la Lancer ES projette une image raffinée. L’apparence de la GTS est encore plus agressive que celle des autres modèles Lancer. Elle arbore en effet des roues de 18 po en alliage à 10 rayons, des prises d’air avant et latérales, des phares antibrouillard de série, un aileron arrière et un embout d’échappement chromé.

La première Mitsubishi munie d’une CVT en Amérique du Nord

Tous les modèles Lancer sont équipés de série d’une boîte manuelle précise à 5 vitesses. La nouvelle Lancer est la première Mitsubishi nord-américaine à offrir une transmission à variation continue (CVT) en option au lieu d’une boîte automatique conventionnelle. Avec la CVT, la Lancer GTS est exclusivement munie d’une boîte Sportronic® à 6 vitesses qui permet au conducteur de passer les vitesses manuellement à l’aide de commandes d’embrayage en magnésium sur le volant, une première dans ce segment.

À l’inverse d’une boîte automatique conventionnelle, qui fonctionne à l’aide de rapports de démultiplication fixes, la CVT est composée d’un système de poulies qui permet une variation infinie entre les rapports disponibles les plus hauts et les plus bas. Ces variations se font sans à-coups et sans changements de vitesse distincts. Une CVT s’adapte aux changements de vitesse d’un véhicule, permettant d’obtenir en tout temps un régime optimal et le plus efficace possible, ce qui améliore la consommation de carburant et les émissions d’échappement.

Caractéristiques de conduite internationales

L’empattement et la voie de la nouvelle Lancer sont plus longs et plus larges que ceux de l’ancienne version. Cependant, la longueur hors tout est légèrement plus courte. La voie avant et arrière ont été élargies de 2,3 pouces (et mesurent maintenant 60,2 pouces), assurant ainsi une maniabilité affirmée et stable. L’empattement a été allongé, passant de 102,3 à 103,7 pouces et la largeur hors tout passe de 66,7 à 69,4 pouces. La longueur hors tout, quant à elle, a été raccourcie de 0,6 pouces. Ces dimensions repensées donnent à la Lancer une tenue de route exceptionnelle qui est particulièrement remarquable sur le modèle GTS, muni de roues de 18 pouces de série.

La structure monocoque très rigide de la Lancer, composée d’acier très résistant, permet de régler la suspension plus sportivement tout en assurant une tenue de route souple et nerveuse. La rigidité de torsion de la nouvelle Lancer a été augmentée de 56 % par rapport à l’ancien modèle et la rigidité de flexion a été accrue de 50 %. Ces chiffres surpassent même les mesures de rigidité de l’ancienne Lancer Evolution IX.

Mitsubishi a raffiné la calibration de la suspension de la nouvelle Lancer pour assurer une tenue de route qui plaira à toutes sortes de conducteurs et qui se retrouve sur les berlines sport européennes plus onéreuses. La suspension avant est composée de support de jambes de force qui augmentent la rigidité latérale et assurent une réponse précise de la direction. La nouvelle suspension arrière sophistiquée à bras multiples contribue à assurer une maniabilité et une tenue de route que l’on s’attend à trouver sur un véhicule beaucoup plus cher. Grâce aux ressorts hélicoïdaux et aux amortisseurs séparés, on a réussi à maximiser l’espace du coffre. Les modèles DE et ES sont munies de roues de 16 po (en acier sur la DE et en alliage sur la ES) et de pneus 205/60 R16.

La Lancer GTS 2008, disponible avec une boîte manuelle à 5 vitesses de série ou une transmission automatique CVT en option, offre une suspension sportive qui inclut une barre stabilisatrice et des taux d’amortissement différents. Elle bénéficie également de roues de 18 pouces et de pneus 215/45 R18. Ce modèle adore particulièrement les routes sinueuses. Les freins de la GTS sont les mêmes que ceux qui sont utilisés sur l’Outlander, un VUS plus gros et plus lourd, - des freins ventilés de 11,6 po (294 mm) à l’avant et des freins solides de 11,9 po (302 mm) à l’arrière.

Ensemble de sécurité complet

La Lancer 2008 incorpore le design monocoque RISE (évolution de sécurité d’impact renforcée) prochaine génération de Mitsubishi. La structure de la carrosserie RISE répartit les charges d’énergie en cas de collision latérale ou arrière, contrôle la déformation, accroît la protection des occupants et aide à protéger le circuit d’alimentation de carburant en cas d’impact arrière. Les modèles Lancer ES et GTS incluent des freins ABS avec répartition électronique du freinage, qui sont également disponibles en option sur le modèle DE. Tous les modèles Lancer incluent un système de surveillance de la pression des pneus.

Intérieur à l’inspiration internationale

Tout comme son extérieur, l’intérieur de la Lancer est caractérisé par des surfaces nettes, sans gadgets, où la qualité des matériaux utilisés n’a d’égal que l’attention portée à chaque détail. Chaque modèle possède une sellerie et une garniture intérieure uniques. La forme et le design du tableau de bord contribuent à la sensation d’espace, donnant l’impression que cet intérieur est plus spacieux que celui des concurrents. Ce sentiment n’est pas une illusion : l’habitacle de la nouvelle Lancer mesure 94,8 pi3 (2 642 litres (93,3 pi3) avec le toit ouvrant optionnel).

Les détails de conception précis sur toutes les commandes donnent une impression de technologie perfectionnée. Les commutateurs sans jeu engendrent un sentiment de qualité et de solidité tandis que les commutateurs de la chaîne stéréo luxueux sont finis en noir piano. Une garniture métallisée entoure l’encadrement du levier de vitesses ainsi que les commutateurs de la chaîne et du régulateur de vitesse, situés sur le volant sur les modèles ES et GTS.

Technologie perfectionnée à l’intérieur

Le groupe soleil et musique, disponible en option sur les modèles GTS, comprend un toit ouvrant électrique et une chaîne audio Rockford-Fosgate® de 650 watts (max), la chaîne audio installée à l’usine la plus puissante de la catégorie.

Tout comme l’option offerte sur le nouveau VUS Outlander 2007, la chaîne Rockford-Fosgate® a été conçue spécialement pour l’acoustique de l’intérieur de la Lancer, dans le but d’assurer une lecture remarquablement claire et puissante de tous les types de musique. La chaîne inclut un changeur de 6 CD dans la planche de bord, compatible avec le format MP3, une prise d’entrée audio sur laquelle on peut brancher un iPod® ou un lecteur similaire. La chaîne de la Lancer se fait entendre par 9 haut-parleurs placés à 7 endroits stratégiques, dont un haut-parleur des graves placé dans le coffre.

La sportive GTS est aussi le modèle de la gamme Lancer le plus avancé technologiquement. Elle comprend en effet le système d’interface mains libres Bluetooth® pour téléphone cellulaire avec reconnaissance vocale (disponible sur le modèle ES). De plus, la GTS offre une caractéristique exclusive : la clé « FAST » (émetteur mains libres à sécurité perfectionnée) qui permet au conducteur de déverrouiller le véhicule conservant la télécommande dans sa poche ou son sac à main et en tirant sur la poignée d’une des portes avant ou du hayon.

La Lancer : Le choix qui s’impose

Mitsubishi a conçu la Lancer nouvelle génération afin d’atteindre l’objectif de réduire ses coûts de fonctionnement tout en augmentant sa fiabilité et sa durabilité. Par exemple, les zones de déformation utilisées sur les membres latéraux avant aident à réduire les coûts de réparation en cas de collision légère. En utilisant une chaîne de distribution plutôt qu’une courroie comme c’est généralement le cas dans ce segment, on a pu obtenir un ensemble plus compact et une fiabilité accrue. Il n’est plus nécessaire de remplacer la courroie. Les bougies en iridium contribuent à réduire les émissions polluantes tout en prolongeant les intervalles de service.

La garantie « 10-5-5 » de Mitsubishi : Les voitures les mieux protégées au monde

Chaque voiture et véhicule utilitaire sport Mitsubishi sont couverts par la garantie complète « 10-5-5 ». Le groupe motopropulseur est couvert par une garantie limitée de 10 ans ou 160 000 km. La garantie limitée du véhicule neuf couvre l’ensemble du véhicule pendant 5 ans ou 100 000 kilomètres et les panneaux de carrosserie sont couverts par une garantie anticorrosion/perforation de 7 ans/160 000 kilomètres. Le programme inclut également l’assistance routière d’urgence 24h/24, assurant le remorquage gratuit jusqu’au concessionnaire Mitsubishi agréé le plus proche pour les réparations de garantie, pendant 5 ans et kilométrage illimité.

-30-

Personne-ressource des médias
Michelle Lee-Gracey
Mitsubishi Motor Sales of Canada
Manager, Public Relations
michelle.lee-gracey@mmcan.ca