Lancer Sportback
Related Images (12)
View All
Sep 08, 2006 ID: 319
Immediate Release

2006 Lancer Sportback - Model Overview

Popular, versatile, Mitsubishi sport wagon. Now available exclusively in Canada.

MISSISSAUGA, Ont. – The spirited 2006 Mitsubishi Lancer Sportback will be available to Canadian consumers in two well equipped trim levels by the early spring, Mitsubishi Motor Sales of Canada Inc. has announced. Sporty yet practical, the versatile Sportback wagon will complement the established Lancer sedan line up which includes Lancer ES, Lancer OZ® Rally and Lancer Ralliart models. The 2006 Lancer Sportback will be sold only in Canada, not in the USA.

The four door, five passenger, compact Lancer Sportback wagon is offered in two models for 2006, Lancer Sportback LS and Lancer Sportback Ralliart. Both models have a swing up, one piece hatch type rear door, fold down rear seats and multiple storage pockets / areas. Lancer Sportback LS and Ralliart are versatile, practical, fuel efficient vehicles, packed with value, that are fun to own and drive. Of the two models, Sportback LS is more subtle in terms of style and presentation. Sportback Ralliart is more aggressive; both visually and behind the wheel, due in part to its rally heritage and sport tuned suspension. But both 2006 Lancer Sportback models exhibit a high level of performance and handling, and both are powered by Mitsubishi’s acclaimed 2.4 litre, SOHC, MIVEC engine, coupled to a 4 spd automatic transmission.

“The compact Sportback wagon will be a welcome addition to a Canadian market that embraces small cars.” said Paul Cummings, President and Chief Executive Officer of Mitsubishi Motor Sales of Canada Inc., “We Canadians have always loved smaller vehicles, for their efficiency, their practicality and their personalities. And that’s one reason we know Sportback is a winner – because it’s brilliantly engineered, easy to own and a blast to drive.”

Stylish Exteriors, Premium Interiors

Exterior improvements for 2006 Lancer Sportback models are very similar to the changes made to the Lancer sedan line up. Two different front grill designs and a new front bumper help to define Sportback’s dual personality. The reserved LS model features an attractive chrome look, while the frisky Ralliart model sports a competitive black mesh approach. The new bumper / fascia complements both grills and helps to establish a strong, sporty, front end appearance. Wraparound headlamps incorporate a multi-reflector surface for improved low beam nighttime visibility. The headlamps use bright lenses for Lancer Sportback LS, while dark lenses can be found on the Ralliart edition. Sportback Ralliart also boasts of unique fog lights that create another visual distinction.

Inside, all new premium seat fabrics are used throughout, to add beauty, comfort and luxury. Other enhancements include a new four spoke steering wheel, updated instrument panel accents and an upper dashboard clock with an advance air bag indicator display and hazard switch. Both Sportback models come well equipped and standard features include an automatic transmission, air conditioning, cruise control, a 140W Mitsubishi AM/FM/CD audio system, power windows, power locks and power heated side view mirrors, an 8 way driver’s seat with height adjustment, adjustable steering column, a 60/40 split high back rear seat, dual visor mirrors, a rear 12 volt accessory socket, tinted glass and more.

Drivetrain & Suspension

Both Lancer Sportback models come with a powerful 2.4 litre, SOHC, 16 valve, MIVEC 4 cylinder engine. The Sportback LS version produces 160 hp @ 5750 rpm and 161 lb ft of torque @ 4000 rpm. The Sportback Ralliart version produces 162 hp @ 5750 and 162 lb ft of torque @ 4000 rpm. Both engines offer high levels of performance, outstanding drivability and excellent fuel efficiency. All Sportbacks transfer power to the front wheels through a 4-speed automatic that features Mitsubishi’s adaptive shift control system, which uses a sophisticated INVECS-II controller to constantly monitor driving habits and tailor shift points to suit the style of the individual driver.

Precise handling, excellent ride quality and outstanding stability on all road surfaces is part of Sportback’s appeal. Both models utilize a sophisticated fully independent suspension system that has evolved after years of competition in the World Rally Championship. The front end uses a classic MacPherson strut design with an anti sway bar. The rear employs a multi-link configuration with trailing arms, coil springs and an anti sway bar. Hydroformed cross members are employed to reduce torsional flex and road noise. The steering system is a competition proven rack-and-pinion design with excellent road feel. Ralliart models utilize a sport tuned suspension, which includes modifications to springs, dampers and steering to provide very precise handling and responsive turn in.

Chassis and Safety

To maximize occupant safety all Mitsubishi Lancers feature unibody construction on a special RISE (Refined Impact Safety Evolution) chassis. Using the latest in computer aided design, this structure includes energy absorbing front and rear crumple zones, a reinforced passenger area, sophisticated side protection and a fortified safety cage.

For 2006, improved safety features include advanced Dual Stage air bags with passenger occupant sensors. Plus, all five seating positions have 3 point safety belts. Front seats have height adjustable shoulder anchors plus pretentioners and force limiters for the front belts, as standard equipment. Four wheel disc brakes with ventilated front discs are standard on both Sportback LS and Ralliart.

Lancer Sportback LS

Sportback LS customers who wish to add value, may choose The Preferred Equipment Package that is available as a factory option and includes the following equipment: Anti lock brakes (ABS) with Electronic Brakeforce Distribution (EBD) • Front seat mounted side impact air bags • 15” alloy wheels with 195/60R15 tires • Roof rails • Colour keyed outside mirrors • Cargo area cover.

Lancer Sportback Ralliart

Lancer Sportback Ralliart comes fully equipped and, as they say, ready to rock and roll. Standard equipment includes: An aggressive black mesh front grille with icon badge • Font and rear integrated air dams + side air dams • Halogen headlamps with dark lenses • Fog lamps • Leather wrapped shift knob • Sport touch four spoke steering wheel and brake handle • Ralliart embroidered floor mats • Ralliart black/red sport bucket front seats (driver side, 8 way adjustable, passenger 6 way) • Anti lock brakes (ABS) with Electronic Brakeforce Distribution (EBD) • Front seat mounted side impact air bags • Sport tuned suspension • Front strut tower brace (painted red) • 16” Lipless alloy wheels with P205/50R all season performance tires • Cargo area cover • 140W Mitsubishi AM/FM/CD audio with 6 speakers.

MSRP before taxes and freight for Lancer Sportback LS will be under 22.0M CDN.

Mitsubishi “10-5-5” Warranty – Best Backed Cars in the World

All Mitsubishi cars and sport utility vehicles are backed by a comprehensive “10 5 5” warranty. The powertrain is covered by a 10 year or 160,000 km limited warranty. The new vehicle limited warranty covers from bumper to bumper for 5 years or 100,000 km and the body panels have a 7 year or 160,000 km anti corrosion/perforation limited warranty. The program also includes 24/7 emergency roadside assistance with free towing to the nearest authorized Mitsubishi retailer for warranty related repairs, for 5 years and unlimited km.

-30-

Media Contact
John Arnone
Manager, Public Relations

Lancer Sportback
Photos connexes (12)
Tout voir
08 sept. 2006 N° d'ID: 319
Diffusion immédiate

Performance, fonctionnalité et qualité démarquent l'élégante Lancer Sportback 2006

Familiale sport prisée et polyvalente de Mitsubishi. Désormais disponible en exclusivité au Canada.

MISSISSAUGA, Ontario – Ventes de véhicules Mitsubishi du Canada annonce l'arrivée sur le marché canadien de la fougueuse Lancer Sportback 2006 de Mitsubishi qui sera proposée en deux versions généreusement équipées, au début du printemps. À la fois sportive et pratique, la polyvalente familiale Sportback vient agrémenter la gamme Lancer établie qui comprend les modèles Lancer ES, Lancer OZMD Rally et Lancer Ralliart. Elle sera vendue au Canada uniquement et pas aux États-Unis.

La mouture 2006 de la familiale compacte, quatre portes, cinq places, se décline en deux modèles : Lancer Sportback LS et Lancer Sportback Ralliart. Les deux modèles ont une porte arrière relevable, de type hayon, une banquette arrière à dossier rabattable et un grand nombre de pochettes et de compartiments de rangement. La LS et la Ralliart sont polyvalentes, pratiques, économiques en carburant, généreusement équipées et vraiment sympas à conduire. La LS est plus discrète d'allure et de personnalité alors que la Ralliart est plus agressive, tant sur le plan de l'esthétique que sur celui de la conduite, une nature héritée de l'expérience des rallyes que conforte une suspension sport. Toutes deux sont cependant douées d'un rendement et d'un comportement exceptionnels et propulsées par le célèbre moteur MIVEC de 2,4 L, à SACT de Mitsubishi, assorti d'une boîte automatique 4 vitesses.

« La familiale compacte Sportback sera une nouvelle addition bienvenue sur un marché canadien favorable aux petites voitures, déclare Paul Cummings, président et chef de la direction de Ventes de véhicules Mitsubishi du Canada, inc. Nous, les Canadiens, nous avons toujours aimé les véhicules plus petits, pour leur rendement, leur aspect pratique et leur personnalité. Et c'est pour cette raison entre autres que nous savons que la Sportback fera fort; elle est brillamment construite, abordable et un vrai bonheur à conduire.

Extérieur élégant, intérieur haut de gamme

Les améliorations extérieures dont bénéficie la Sportback 2006 sont très proches de celles apportées aux berlines Lancer. Deux calandres d'un style différent et un pare-chocs avant redessiné affirment la double personnalité de la familiale. La discrète LS affiche une attrayante calandre chromée alors que la pétillante Ralliart arbore une calandre d’allure agressive au grillage noir. Le pare-chocs et le carénage redessinés, en harmonie parfaite avec les deux calandres, confortent l'apparence solide et sportive de l'avant. Les phares profilés aérodynamiques à surface réfléchissante améliorent l’efficacité des feux de croisement en conduite nocturne. Ils sont habillés d'une lentille claire sur la LS et d'une lentille foncée sur la Ralliart. La Ralliart arbore également des phares antibrouillard de conception unique qui lui confèrent un attrait visuel distinctif.

À l'intérieur, les tout nouveaux tissus haut de gamme qui habillent les sièges créent une ambiance élégante, confortable et luxueuse. Parmi les autres améliorations apportées à l'habitacle, mentionnons le nouveau volant à quatre branches, le décor repensé du tableau de bord et une montre sur la partie supérieure du tableau de bord avec affichage de pointe du témoin des sacs gonflables, ainsi qu’un contacteur des feux de détresse. Les deux modèles, généreusement équipés d'origine, comprennent de série : boîte automatique, climatisation, régulateur de vitesse, système audio Mitsubishi de 140 W avec radio AM/FM stéréo et lecteur de CD, lève-glaces, verrouillage des portes et rétroviseurs extérieurs chauffants à commande électrique, siège du conducteur réglable selon 8 directions et en hauteur, colonne de direction réglable, banquette arrière à dossier divisé 60/40 rabattable, deux miroirs de courtoisie, une prise de courant de 12 volts à l'arrière, glaces teintées, et plus encore.

Groupe motopropulseur et suspension

Les deux versions de la familiale sont propulsées par un puissant moteur MIVEC 4 cylindres de 2,4 L, à SACT et 16 soupapes. La LS produit 160 ch à 5 750 tr/min et un couple de 161 lb pi à 4 000 tr/min. La Ralliart développe 162 ch à 5 750 tr/min et un couple de 162 lb pi à 4 000 tr/min. Les deux moteurs offrent un superbe rendement, une qualité de conduite exceptionnelle et une excellente économie de carburant. Sur toutes les familiales, la puissance du moteur est transférée aux roues avant au moyen d'une boîte automatique 4 vitesses dotée du système de commande adaptative des passages de Mitsubishi, dont l’INVECS-II de haute technicité qui surveille en permanence le mode de conduite du conducteur, adaptant le passage des vitesses en conséquence.

Un comportement précis, une excellente qualité de roulement et une stabilité remarquable sur tout type de chaussée font partie des attraits de la Sportback. Les deux modèles sont équipés d'une suspension de pointe entièrement indépendante dont la technologie a évolué au fil des années de compétition dans le cadre des championnats du monde des rallyes. L'avant comporte une suspension classique à jambes de force MacPherson et une barre stabilisatrice. La suspension arrière utilise une configuration multibras surbaissée avec bras de torsion, ressorts hélicoïdaux et barre stabilisatrice. Des traverses hydroformées sont utilisées pour réduire les effets de torsion et le bruit de la route. La direction est basée sur une configuration à crémaillère éprouvée en compétition, d'une excellente précision. Les modèles Ralliart utilisent une suspension sport dont les ressorts, les amortisseurs et la direction ont été modifiés afin de garantir un comportement précis et un braquage fiable.

Châssis et sécurité

Afin de maximiser la sécurité des occupants, toutes les Lancer de Mitsubishi sont dotées d'une construction monocoque basée sur un châssis sécuritaire évolué RISE (Refined Impact Safety Evolution). Cette structure, issue du nec plus ultra de la conception assistée par ordinateur, comporte des zones déformables avant et arrière, un habitacle renforcé, des structures latérales de haute technicité et une cage de sécurité consolidée.

Les améliorations apportées à la mouture 2006 comprennent des sacs gonflables à déploiement adapté de pointe avec détecteur d’occupation du siège du passager avant. Les ceintures de sécurité sont à 3 points à toutes les places. Les ceintures de sécurité avant sont dotées de série de baudriers à hauteur réglable, de prétendeurs et de limiteurs de force. Les freins à disque aux quatre roues, avec disques ventilés à l'avant, sont de série sur la LS et la Ralliart.

Lancer Sportback LS

Pour renforcer davantage encore la valeur de la Sportback LS, l'ensemble équipements privilégiés livrable en option offre ce qui suit : Système de freinage antiblocage (ABS) avec répartition électronique de la force de freinage (EBD) • Sacs gonflables latéraux montés aux sièges avant • Roues en alliage de 15 po chaussées de pneus 195/60R15 • Longerons de galerie de toit • Rétroviseurs extérieurs de couleur assortie • Cache-bagages.

Lancer Sportback Ralliart

La Lancer Sportback Ralliart est livrée toute équipée, tout feu tout flamme. L'équipement de série comprend : Calandre d’allure agressive à grillage noir ornée de l'emblème Ralliart • Déflecteurs d'air intégrés à l'avant et à l'arrière et déflecteurs d'air latéraux • Phares aux halogènes à lentille foncée • Phares antibrouillard • Pommeau de levier de vitesse gainé de cuir • Volant à quatre branches et poignée de frein de stationnement au toucher sport • Tapis protecteurs avec emblème Ralliart • Sièges baquet sport noir et rouge Ralliart à l'avant (réglables 8 directions pour le conducteur, 6 directions pour le passager) • Système de freinage antiblocage (ABS) avec répartition électronique de la force de freinage (EBD) • Sacs gonflables latéraux montés aux sièges avant • Suspension sport • Entretoise de tourelles de jambes de force avant (peinte en rouge) • Roues en alliage de 16 po, sans rebord, chaussées de pneus de performance P205/50R toutes saisons• Cache-bagages • Système audio Mitsubishi de 140 W avec radio stéréo AM/FM, lecteur de CD et 6 haut-parleurs

Le PDSF hors taxes et hors frais de transport pour la Lancer Sportback LS sera sous la barre des 22 000 $ CA.

Garantie Mitsubishi « 10-5-5 » – Les véhicules les mieux protégés au monde.

Tous les véhicules et utilitaires sport Mitsubishi sont protégés par une garantie 10-5-5 complète. Le groupe motopropulseur est protégé par une garantie limitée de 10 ans ou 160 000 km. La garantie limitée sur les véhicules neufs couvre la totalité du véhicule pendant 5 ans ou 100 000 km; les panneaux de carrosserie bénéficient d'une garantie limitée de 7 ans ou 160 000 km contre la corrosion et les perforations causées par la corrosion. Le programme de garantie inclut une assistance routière assurée 24 heures par jour, 7 jours par semaine, avec remorquage sans frais chez le concessionnaire Mitsubishi autorisé le plus proche pour les réparations au titre de la garantie pendant 5 ans ou kilométrage illimité.

-30-

Personne-ressource des médias
Michelle Lee-Gracey
Mitsubishi Motor Sales of Canada
Manager, Public Relations
michelle.lee-gracey@mmcan.ca