Lancer Evolution
Related Images (58)
View All
Feb 01, 2008 ID: 797
Immediate Release

2008 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution: High performance reinvented.

Lancer Evolution is a powerhouse of advanced drivetrain technology.

MONTREAL, Que. (January 17, 2008) – It has finally arrived. Mitsubishi Motor Sales of Canada Inc. (MMSCAN) today unveiled the long awaited 2008 Lancer Evolution at the Montreal Auto Show. This introduction was the first public showing in Canada of the all new Lancer Evolution, a high performance, 291 hp, all wheel drive, four door compact sport sedan that is absolutely bristling with cutting edge drivetrain technology and comes with an impressive heritage of World Rally Championship competition.

The 2008 Lancer Evolution is the tenth generation – the newest and most sophisticated version – of the legendary Lancer Evolution, a high performance sports sedan that has been available in the USA and many other countries for the last 16 years, but has never before been sold in Canada. Remaining true to the core values that have made the Lancer Evolution brand synonymous with performance, this tenth generation Lancer Evolution showcases several new technologies, including an all new 291 hp, 2.0 litre DOHC, intercooled-turbocharged engine and Super All Wheel Control (S–AWC), a vehicle dynamic control network that provides an extraordinary level of control at individual wheels, going well beyond the capabilities of other all wheel drive systems.

Three Canadian models: Lancer Evolution GSR, MR and MR Premium

Three strikingly styled Lancer Evolution models will be offered in Canada for 2008: The Lancer Evolution GSR features a 5-speed manual transmission. The Lancer Evolution MR and Lancer Evolution MR Premium both feature the 6-speed Twin-Clutch Sportronic® Shift Transmission (TC-SST), a new generation automated manual transmission which allows drivers to rapidly and smoothly shift up and down through the gears. Lancer Evolution MR models are also equipped with Bilstein® shock absorbers and Eibach® springs, two-piece Brembo® brake rotors for better heat dissipation, BBS® forged-alloy wheels, HID headlamps and additional interior features.

The Lancer Evolution GSR model will be in Canadian showrooms in February. Lancer Evolution MR and MR Premium models will follow by March or early April.

“Today is a special day in the history of Mitsubishi Motor Sales of Canada”, said Koji Soga, President and CEO of Mitsubishi Motor Sales of Canada Inc. (MMSCAN), “Canadian car enthusiasts have been waiting many years to experience the Lancer Evolution and we are proud to introduce to them the tenth version, the most sophisticated and technologically advanced Lancer Evolution ever offered to the public.”

A bold new look consistent with a World Rally Championship heritage

Specially prepared Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution rally cars have successfully competed in major international rally events and the World Rally Championship for many years, and every street legal Lancer Evolution shares this same competitive spirit and much of the same advanced technology.

The 2008 Lancer Evolution makes a strong visual statement, blending concept car designs and sound aerodynamic principles while still conveying its rally heritage. A shark nosed front end inspired by jet fighter air intakes, a distinct wedge like profile and crisp, taut lines highlight the basic new generation Lancer design. Building on those themes, the 2008 Lancer Evolution looks the part of the street wise sports machine with its unique front end, aggressively sloping hood with integral air scoop and engine heat outlets, boxed fenders and 18-inch alloy wheels with Brembo® brakes.

Inside, the Lancer Evolution presents a more refined approach and shows a new international flair. Available user technologies, including high end Rockford Fosgate® audio and navigation systems, reflect the taste of a broadening customer base.

291 horsepower: an all new 2.0 litre intercooled-turbocharged engine

The 2008 Lancer Evolution’s new 4B11 engine is an intercooled-turbocharged 2.0 litre DOHC, 16 valve, MIVEC, inline 4-cylinder. Beyond that description, it differs greatly from the legendary 4G63 it replaces. The 4B11 is built with a reinforced cast aluminum cylinder block versus the cast iron block used in the 4G63, and aluminum is also used for the cylinder head and cover and the timing chain case. Unlike the 4G63, the new 4B11 does not use a balancer shaft, made possible by its inherently lower noise and vibration and the use of hydraulic engine mounts.

This new engine produces more power than its predecessor: 291 hp at 6,500 rpm (vs. 286 hp at 6,500 rpm) and 300 lb-ft of peak torque at 4,400 rpm (vs. 289 lb-ft at 3,500 rpm). The new engine also has a broader torque curve, and the revised turbocharger yields up to 20 percent quicker response at lower engine speeds.

A major change from the previous engine is the use of a direct acting valvetrain in place of the roller rocker arm configuration, for reduced weight. A timing chain replaces the belt, and MIVEC variable valve timing is used on both the intake and exhaust camshafts (the most recent 4G63 had MIVEC on the intake only). The rear located stainless steel exhaust manifold helps improve weight distribution, and the freer-breathing exhaust system features a larger volume main muffler with dual tailpipe outlets.

The TC-SST: A brilliant automated manual transmission

Exclusive to the Lancer Evolution MR models for 2008, the 6-speed Twin Clutch Sportronic® Shift Transmission (TC-SST) is an automated manual transmission capable of executing lightning quick upshifts with no drop off in engine power. The TC-SST features both a console-mounted shifter and magnesium steering wheel paddle shifters and offers manual and fully automatic modes.

Essentially, the TC-SST is a manual transmission that can select two gears at a time: one gear is engaged by one of the two wet multi-plate clutches, and the other is pre-selected, waiting to be engaged by the second clutch. The gear change is made – either manually or automatically depending on mode selected – when the electro-hydraulically operated clutches are “swapped,” which occurs simultaneously, with no perceptible lag time.

The TC-SST offers three drive modes – Normal, Sport and S-Sport – and within each, the driver may choose automatic or manual shifting. Sport mode uses higher shift points (in automatic mode) and quicker shifting to deliver instant throttle response for better performance feel. Sport mode is also useful for driving in mountainous areas or when engine braking is required. The S-Sport mode can be selected for performance driving situations, such as track events (S-Sport mode can be engaged only with the vehicle at a complete standstill, with the transmission in “PARK”. Pull the mode selector switch back as far as possible for three seconds and S-Sport will engage).

Allowing drivers of all abilities to shift rapidly up and down through the gears, the TC-SST delivers satisfying acceleration while also returning superior fuel mileage, thanks to its high efficiency power transmission mechanism.

Super All Wheel Control (S-AWC)

In the 2008 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution, Super All Wheel Control (S–AWC) is not simply the name of a new all-wheel drive system, but an advanced vehicle dynamics control network that reads and reflects driver intent in real time. This brilliant new system regulates drive torque at each wheel by controlling a network of dynamic handling technologies. These technologies include: Active Center Differential (ACD) 4-wheel drive; Active Yaw Control (AYC) rear differential; Active Stability Control (ASC); and Sports ABS brakes; all of which provide feedback to the SAWC system.

S–AWC is the culmination of more than 20 years of Mitsubishi road and rally four-wheel drive innovation and experience. By introducing S–AWC to the 2008 Lancer Evolution, Mitsubishi is continuing to advance four-wheel drive performance technology. As a result, the new Lancer Evolution offers an extraordinary level of dynamic control at each wheel, going well beyond the capabilities of other all-wheel drive systems. The benefit of S–AWC is that it helps the driver maintain control of the vehicle during acceleration, deceleration and cornering, under all driving conditions, at all times.

Below is a short description and benefit for each technology. (Note: A separate S–AWC technical release contains more detailed descriptions of each technology)

ACD – Active Centre Differential

The ACD splits torque up to 50:50 between the front and rear wheels using an electronically controlled hydraulic multi-plate clutch. With constant input from the S–AWC computer, ACD regulates the differential limiting action to optimize the front/rear wheel torque split. The S–AWC computer continually takes data input from the steering wheel angle, throttle opening, wheel speeds, and the vehicle’s longitudinal and lateral movements to determine the vehicle’s path of travel and continually sends instructions to the ACD. The 2008 Lancer Evolution offers three driver selectable traction modes for the ACD, changeable while the car is moving: Tarmac, Gravel and Snow. In each mode, S–AWC adjusts the center differential locking behavior to suit the road conditions. An information monitor, located between the tachometer and speedometer, displays the selected ACD mode and also provides status indicators for ACD and AYC operation. The driver can see at a glance how each differential is acting. The benefit of ACD is improved steering response and better traction.

AYC – Active Yaw Control

The innovative AYC rear differential uses a torque transfer mechanism to control rear wheel torque differential for different driving conditions, which enhances cornering performance by limiting the yaw moment (rotational forces) acting on the vehicle. The AYC differential in the 2008 Lancer Evolution model adds yaw feedback control using a yaw rate sensor and also gains braking force control via ASC. Like ACD, AYC is controlled by the S-AWC computer, using inputs from the steering wheel angle, throttle opening, individual wheel speeds, and longitudinal and lateral movements. By controlling the amount of torque transmitted to the rear wheels when there is less or more traction, or a difference in grip on the road surface, AYC helps to improve acceleration and stability on slippery roads.

ASC – Active Stability Control

Integrated management of the ASC and ABS systems allows S-AWC to effectively and seamlessly control vehicle dynamics when accelerating, decelerating or cornering. The ASC system, which includes stability control and traction control, helps to maintain optimum traction by regulating engine power and the braking force at each wheel. ASC helps the driver follow a chosen line more closely by comparing the car’s path (as determined from yaw rate sensor data) to the desired path (as determined from steering inputs) and applies individual wheel braking or throttle control to correct any divergence. ASC also enhances vehicle stability by helping to prevent wheel spin on slippery surfaces, and helping to prevent sliding as the result of sudden steering inputs.

Sport ABS – Sport Anti-lock Braking System

With Sport ABS, the ECU (Electronic Control Unit) uses information from a steering angle sensor that detects steering inputs as well as from lateral g-force and vehicle speed sensors to apportion pressure to each of the four wheels independently. Electronic Brake Distribution (EBD), an integral part of Sport ABS, optimizes allocation of braking force between the front and rear wheels. By increasing the pressure applied to the rear wheels when braking close to the limit, EBD reduces the load on the front wheels, to realize better anti-fade performance. The result is improved steering response under braking. The system also compensates for changes in surface and vehicle load conditions to ensure predictable and consistent stopping performance.

Chassis, Suspension & Brakes

The 2008 Lancer Evolution is built on the latest global performance platform. This is essentially the same platform used for all new Lancers, which is already stiffer than the previous generation Evolution, and which gains further structural enhancements to the front and rear suspension areas to become the Lancer Evolution.

The super-stiff structure, optimized chassis systems, wider use of aluminum for the engine, body, and chassis components, as well as greater use of high-tensile steel, all play important roles in the Super All Wheel Control concept. The roof, hood, front fenders and both the front and rear bumper beams are aluminum. And for better weight distribution, the vehicle battery and the windshield washer fluid tank have been moved to the trunk area. (Note: the roof of the MR Premium is made of steel, due to the inclusion of the power sunroof)

The 2008 Lancer Evolution features its own unique suspension system, including inverted struts in front and a rear multi-link configuration. Race-proven forged aluminum components help reduce unsprung weight. Both MR models substitute Eibach® springs and Bilstein® shock absorbers for even better handling. And due to the high rigidity of the new global C-platform, the Lancer Evolution suspension can be tuned to provide a more compliant and stable ride than before without compromising handling performance.

The standard 18 x 8.5-inch wheels (Enkei® cast-alloy on GSR and BBS® forged-alloy on MR and MR Premium) carry 245/40R18 Yokohama® ADVAN® asymmetrical performance tires. All models employ the same size Brembo® rotors, 351 mm (13.8 in.) diameter in front and 330 mm (13.0 in.) diameter in the rear, and the MR models use a new two-piece rotor construction to reduce weight. The 2-piece disc is 1.3 kg. (2.9 lbs.) lighter per wheel. All models use 4-piston calipers in front and 2-piston calipers in the rear.

A lot more convenient, a lot more comfortable

With brilliant performance assured, Mitsubishi has equipped the 2008 Lancer Evolution with a host of standard comfort and convenience features including: Recaro® front seats • colour keyed door handles & mirrors • fog lamps • rear spoiler • sport leather wrapped steering wheel • leather wrapped gear knob • aluminum pedals • tilt steering • power windows • central locking • variable intermittent wipers • remote trunk release • cruise control • automatic climate control • keyless entry • steering wheel mounted ACD controls • AM/FM/CD stereo with 6 speakers • and more.

MR and MR Premium models also feature or substitute: HID headlamps • large rear spoiler • body colour hood and fender vents • leather/cloth upholstery • FAST-key entry system • extra sound insulation • and more.

MR Premium models feature or substitute: Steering wheel mounted radio controls • 650 watt (max) Rockford Fosgate® AM/FM/6-disc CD changer stereo with 9 speakers including a subwoofer • Sirius® Satellite Radio with 6 months complimentary service • HDD Navigation system with music server function • Bluetooth® Hands-Free system • power sunroof with sunshade • and more.

Safety

The 2008 Lancer Evolution is built around Mitsubishi’s next generation Reinforced Impact Safety Evolution (RISE) unibody design. The RISE body structure disperses energy loads during side and rear crashes and controls distortion, enhancing occupant protection and also helping to protect the fuel system during a rear impact.

The 2008 Lancer Evolution’s safety package is one of the most comprehensive in the segment and includes an advanced dual front air bag supplemental restraint system (SRS) with occupant sensors; standard front seat-mounted side-impact air bags and side curtain air bags; a driver’s knee air bag; height adjustable front seatbelts with pretensioners and force limiters; LATCH system for CRS; Sport ABS with electronic brake-force distribution (EBD); plus all Lancer Evolution models feature a tire pressure monitoring system.

-30-

Media Contact
John Arnone
Manager, Public Relations

Lancer Evolution
Photos connexes (58)
Tout voir
01 févr. 2008 N° d'ID: 797
Diffusion immédiate

La Lancer Evolution 2008 de Mitsubishi

Le groupe motopropulseur de la Lancer Evolution intègre de nombreuses technologies perfectionnées.

MONTRÉAL, Qué. (le 17 janvier 2008) – Elle est enfin arrivée. Aujourd’hui, lors du salon de l’auto de Montréal, Ventes de Véhicules Mitsubishi du Canada, inc. (VVMC) a dévoilé pour la première fois au Canada la Lancer Evolution 2008 tant attendu. Le groupe motopropulseur de cette berline sport compacte à quatre portes, traction intégrale et 291 chevaux, intègre de nombreuses technologies de pointe. Cette auto débarque dans le pays, forte d’un héritage gagnant de rallyes internationaux.

La Lancer Evolution 2008 est la 10e génération, la version la plus récente et la plus sophistiquée, de la légendaire Lancer Evolution. Cette berline sportive performante est disponible aux États-Unis et dans d’autres pays depuis 16 ans mais n’a jamais été vendue au Canada. Fidèle aux valeurs qui ont rendu la marque Lancer Evolution synonyme de performances, cette Lancer Evolution 10e génération comporte plusieurs nouvelles technologies, telles qu’un moteur à turbocompresseur et échangeur d’air de 2,0 litres qui produit 291 chevaux ainsi que le Super contrôle intégral (S–AWC), un réseau de contrôle dynamique du véhicule qui offre un contrôle extraordinaire à chaque roue et surpasse de loin les performances des autres systèmes à traction intégrale.

Trois modèles canadiens : les Lancer Evolution GSR, MR et MR Premium

Trois modèles superbes de Lancer Evolution seront disponibles sur le marché canadien en 2008 : La GSR, dotée d’une boîte manuelle à 5 vitesses, la MR et la MR Premium, toutes deux entraînées par la nouvelle boîte manuelle automatisée Sportronic à 6 vitesses et deux embrayages, aussi connu sous l’acronyme TC-SST, qui permet au conducteur de changer rapidement les vitesses. Le modèle MR est également équipé en exclusivité de jambes de force Bilstein®, de ressorts Eibach®, de disques de frein Brembo® en deux morceaux favorisant la dissipation de la chaleur, de roues BBS® en alliage forgé, de phares avant à décharge à haute intensité, ainsi que de plusieurs caractéristiques intérieures qui lui sont propres.

La Lancer Evolution GSR débarquera dans les salles de montre canadienne au mois de février. Les Lancer Evolution MR et MR Premium la suivront en mars ou début avril.

« Aujourd’hui est une étape importante pour Mitsubishi au Canada, » a déclaré M. Koji Soga, Président et chef de la direction de Ventes de Véhicules Mitsubishi du Canada, inc. (VVMC). « Les amateurs d’autos attendent depuis longtemps l’arrivée de la Lancer Evolution et nous sommes fiers de leur proposer la 10e version, la Lancer Evolution la plus sophistiquée et la plus perfectionnée jamais offerte au grand public. ».

Une nouvelle apparence audacieuse qui rappelle son héritage de victoires de championnats du monde de rallye.

Les Lancer Evolution de rallye spécialement préparées par Mitsubishi ont participé et remporté de nombreuses courses de rallye internationales depuis de nombreuses années. La Lancer Evolution destinée au grand public partage cet esprit sportif et offre plusieurs des mêmes technologies perfectionnées.

Alliant une apparence avant-gardiste à un aérodynamisme extrême et jouant sur l’héritage de rallye de la marque, l’apparence de la Lancer Evolution 2008 annonce sans ambages ses intentions de performance. L’avant en nez de requin, les prises d’air inspirées par les avions de chasse, le profil taillé à la serpe et les lignes audacieuses constituent la base du nouveau design de la Lancer. La Lancer Evolution 2008 joue bien son rôle de machine de sport conçue pour la conduite sur route, rôle accentué par son capot avant reconnaissable et incliné intégrant des prises d’air et des bouches de sortie thermique, ses ailes encastrées, ses roues en alliage de 18 pouces et ses freins Brembo®.

À l’intérieur, la Lancer Evolution opte pour une apparence exotique et haut de gamme. Les technologies disponibles, telles que la chaîne audio perfectionnée Rockford Fosgate® et le système de navigation, témoignent d’une volonté d’attirer un public plus large.

291 chevaux : un nouveau moteur de 2,0 litres à turbocompresseur et échangeur d’air

Le nouveau moteur 4B11 de la Lancer Evolution 2008 est un moteur à turbocompresseur et échangeur d’air de 2,0 litres, à 4 cylindres en ligne, DACT, 16 soupapes et MIVEC. Cette description mise à part, il est complètement différent du moteur 4G63 légendaire qu’il remplace. Le 4B11 est composé d’un bloc-cylindres en fonte d’aluminium renforcée alors que le 4G63 était composé d’un bloc en fonte. La culasse, le couvercle et le carter de la chaîne de distribution sont également en aluminium. Contrairement au 4G63, le 4B11 peut se passer d’un arbre d’équilibrage car il est muni de montures hydrauliques et produit des niveaux de vibration et de bruit inférieurs à ceux du moteur précédent.

Le nouveau moteur produit plus de puissance et de couple que son prédécesseur : 291 chevaux à 6 500 tr/min, (par rapport à 286 ch à 6 500 tr/min) et 300 lb/pi à 4 400 tr/min (par rapport à 289 lb/pi à 3 500 tr/min) respectivement. La courbe du couple du nouveau moteur est également plus large. Si on le compare à l’ancien modèle, le turbocompresseur révisé offre une réponse accélérée de 20 % à bas régime.

Cependant, l’une des différences des plus importantes est sans doute l’utilisation d’un dispositif de commande des soupapes télescopique plutôt que de culbuteurs à rouleaux utilisés précédemment. Cette nouvelle configuration allège le moteur. Une chaîne de distribution remplace la courroie de distribution et la distribution à programme variable MIVEC est utilisée sur les arbres à cames d’admission et d’échappement (le 4G63 n’incorporait MIVEC que sur l’arbre à cames d’admission). La tubulure d’échappement en acier inoxydable, situé à l’arrière (côté tablier), aide à améliorer la répartition du poids. Le système d’échappement, qui aspire maintenant plus librement, comporte un silencieux plus large et deux sorties de pot d’échappement.

La TC-SST : une boîte de vitesses manuelle automatisée des plus ingénieuses

Offerte en exclusivité sur le modèle Evolution MR 2008, la boîte Sportronic® à 6 vitesses et deux embrayages (TC-SST) est une boîte manuelle automatisée capable d’effectuer des changements de vitesses rapides comme l’éclair, sans aucune perte de puissance. La TC-SST comporte un levier sur la console ainsi que des commandes d’embrayage en magnésium sur le volant, et propose un mode manuel et un mode complètement automatique.

En réalité, la TC-SST est une boîte manuelle qui peut sélectionner deux vitesses en même temps. Une vitesse est enclenchée par l’un des deux embrayages à plaques multiples baignées et l’autre est sélectionnée à l’avance, attendant d’être enclenchée par le deuxième embrayage. Le changement de vitesse se fait (manuellement ou automatiquement, selon le mode choisi par le conducteur) quand les embrayages actionnés électro-hydrauliquement sont « échangés ». Le changement se fait simultanément, sans aucun délai perceptible.

La TC-SST comporte trois modes de conduite distincts : Normal, Sport et S-Sport. Quel que soit le mode utilisé, le conducteur peut opter pour les changements de vitesses automatiques ou manuels. Les points de changement des vitesses en mode Sport sont plus élevés (en automatique) et plus rapides afin d’assurer une réponse des gaz instantanée qui accroît les sensations de performances. Le mode Sport est également appréciable dans les régions montagneuses ou lorsque l’utilisation du frein moteur est requise. Le mode S-Sport, quant à lui, est réservé pour la conduite de performances, comme la course automobile sur un circuit de compétition. (Le mode S-Sport ne peut être enclenché que si le véhicule est à l’arrêt complet, avec la transmission en position « P ». Pour enclencher le mode S-Sport, il faut tirer le commutateur de sélection aussi loin que possible pendant trois secondes).

Grâce à son mécanisme de transmission efficace, la TC-SST permet au conducteur de changer rapidement les vitesses et d’accélérer puissamment tout en réduisant la consommation de carburant.

Super Contrôle Intégral (S-AWC)

Pour la Lancer Evolution 2008 de Mitsubishi, le Super Contrôle Intégral (S-AWC) n’est pas seulement un nom ronflant donné à un nouveau système de traction intégrale. En effet, le S-AWC régule le couple de traction envoyé à chaque roue en contrôlant un réseau de technologies dynamiques qui influencent la tenue de route. Ces technologies incluent la traction intégrale à différentiel central actif (DCA), le différentiel arrière à contrôle actif du lacet (CAL), le contrôle actif de stabilité (CAS) et les freins ABS sport, qui communiquent tous avec le système S-AWC.

Le S-AWC de Mitsubishi est le résultat de plus de 20 ans d’histoire et d’expérience en course de rallye. En proposant le S-AWC sur la Lancer Evolution 2008, Mitsubishi continue de perfectionner les technologies de performance des tractions intégrales. L’avantage du S-AWC est qu’il aide le conducteur à maintenir le contrôle de son véhicule pendant l’accélération, la décélération et dans les virages, quelles que soient les conditions de conduite.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous une brève description de chaque technologie. (N.B. : un communiqué technique séparé sur le S-AWC offre des descriptions plus détaillées de chaque technologie).

DCA : Différentiel central actif

Grâce à un embrayage hydraulique à plaques multiples contrôlé électroniquement, le DCA sépare le couple entre les roues avant et les roues arrière, jusqu’à un maximum de 50/50. À l’aide des données transmises par l’ordinateur S-AWC, le DCA régule l’action de limitation du différentiel pour optimiser la répartition du couple entre les roues avant et les roues arrière.

L’ordinateur S-AWC surveille en permanence l’angle du volant, l’ouverture du papillon, la vitesse de rotation des roues ainsi que les mouvements longitudinaux et latéraux du véhicule afin de déterminer la direction du véhicule. La Lancer Evolution 2008 offre trois modes de traction sélectionnables par le conducteur quand le véhicule est en marche : TARMAC, GRAVIER et NEIGE. Selon le mode sélectionné, le S-AWC ajuste le comportement de blocage du différentiel central pour l’adapter aux conditions de conduite. Un voyant situé entre le compte-tour et le compteur de vitesse affiche le mode sélectionné et indique le fonctionnement du DCA et du CAL. Le conducteur peut ainsi voir d’un seul coup d’œil comment chaque système réagit. Le DCA améliore les réactions de la direction et la traction du véhicule.

Le différentiel arrière à CAL innovateur utilise un mécanisme de transfert du couple pour contrôler le couple envoyé aux roues arrière selon les conditions de conduite. La prise de virage est améliorée car l’action de lacet sur le véhicule est ainsi limitée. Le différentiel à CAL de la Lancer Evolution 2008 communique à l’aide d’un capteur de taux de lacet et contrôle la force de freinage grâce au CAS. Les deux modèles sont munis d’un différentiel avant à glissement limité à engrenage hélicoïdal.

CAL : Contrôle actif du lacet

Le différentiel arrière à contrôle actif du lacet de Mitsubishi Motors fonctionne à l’aide d’un mécanisme de transfert du couple, situé dans le différentiel arrière. Ce dispositif contrôle la répartition du couple afin d’améliorer les performances dans les virages en réduisant les mouvements de lacet (forces rotatives) exercés sur le véhicule. Le différentiel CAL de la Lancer Evolution 2008 surveille le lacet à l’aide de capteurs et contrôle la force de freinage par le biais du CAS. Comme le CAS, le CAL est contrôlé par l’ordinateur S-AWC qui surveille l’angle du volant, l’ouverture du papillon, la vitesse de rotation des roues ainsi que les mouvements longitudinaux et latéraux du véhicule afin de déterminer la direction du véhicule. En variant le couple transmis aux roues arrière selon le degré de traction ou l’adhérence de la route, le CAL aide à améliorer l’accélération et la stabilité sur les routes glissantes.

CAS : Contrôle actif de stabilité

La gestion intégrée des systèmes CAS et ABS permettent au S-AWC de contrôler efficacement la dynamique du véhicule lors de l’accélération, de la décélération ou de la prise de virages. Le contrôle actif de stabilité, qui inclut le contrôle de stabilité et l’anti-patinage, permet au S-AWC de stabiliser le véhicule tout en maintenant une traction optimale en régulant la puissance du moteur et la force de freinage appliquée à chaque roue. Le CAS aide le conducteur à suivre de plus près sa trajectoire prévue en comparant la direction du véhicule (déterminée par le capteur de lacet) et la trajectoire prévue (déterminée par la direction), puis en freinant les roues individuelles ou en accélérant pour corriger toute divergence. Le CAS améliore également la stabilité du véhicule en supprimant tout dérapage lors d’une manœuvre d’urgence ou lors de coups de volant brusques.

ABS Sport : freinage antiblocage sport

Avec le système ABS Sport, le bloc de commande électronique reçoit des données du capteur d’angle de direction (qui détecte les mouvements de direction ainsi que les forces de gravité latérales) et des capteurs de vitesse du véhicule. Le système peut ainsi répartir la pression de freinage indépendamment entre les quatre roues. La répartition électronique du freinage (REF), intégrée au système ABS Sport, répartit de façon idéale la force de freinage entre les roues avant et les roues arrière. En augmentant la pression de freinage appliquée aux roues arrière lors d’un freinage d’urgence, la REF réduit également la charge appliquée sur les roues avant, limitant ainsi l’évanouissement du freinage.

On obtient une réponse améliorée de la direction en cas de freinage. Ce dispositif permet également de compenser les changements de surface et le poids de chargement du véhicule, ce qui permet d’obtenir des performances de freinage constantes en toutes circonstances

Châssis, suspension et freins

La structure de la plateforme de base de la nouvelle Lancer Evolution 2008, similaire à celle des autres modèles Lancer, est plus rigide que celle de la génération précédente et a également été renforcée au niveau des suspensions avant et arrière.

La structure très rigide, le châssis optimisé, l’utilisation accrue d’aluminium pour le moteur, la carrosserie et le châssis, ainsi que l’utilisation d’acier très résistant à la traction jouent un rôle important à l’atteinte du Super Contrôle Intégral. Le toit, le capot, les ailes avant et les poutrelles des pare-chocs avant et arrière sont faits en aluminium. Afin d’assurer une meilleure répartition du poids, la batterie du véhicule et le réservoir de liquide de lave-glace ont été placés dans le coffre. (N.B. : Le toit de la MR Premium est en acier, à cause de la présence du toit ouvrant électrique).

La Lancer Evolution est dotée d’une suspension qui lui est propre, composée de jambes de force inversées à l’avant et de bras multiples à l’arrière. Les composants de compétition en aluminium forgé réduisent le poids non suspendu. Le modèle MR ajoute des ressorts Eibach® et des jambes de force Bilstein® qui fournissent une tenue de route encore meilleure. Puisque la nouvelle plateforme C est très rigide, la suspension de la Lancer Evolution peut être réglée pour offrir une tenue de route plus stable sans pour autant modifier la maniabilité de la machine.

Les roues de 18 x 8,5 pouces (Enkei® en alliage moulé sur la GSR et BBS® en alliage forgé sur la MR et MR Premium) sont chaussées de pneus de performances asymétriques 245/40R18 Yokohama® ADVAN®. Tous les modèles sont munis de rotors Brembo® de même taille (diamètre de 351 mm (13,8 po) à l’avant et de 330 mm (13,0 pouces) à l’arrière). Par contre, la MR comporte des nouveaux rotors en 2 morceaux qui réduisent le poids. En effet, les disques en 2 morceaux allègent l’ensemble de 1,3 kg (2,9 lb.) par roue. Les deux modèles incluent des étriers à 4 pistons à l’avant et des étriers à 2 pistons à l’arrière.

Beaucoup plus pratique et beaucoup plus confortable

Ayant assuré les performances excitantes du véhicule, Mitsubishi a pu équiper la Lancer Evolution 2008 pour qu’elle devienne une meilleure auto à conduire au quotidien. Elle inclut de série : des sièges Recaro® avant • des poignées et des rétroviseurs de couleur assortie • des phares antibrouillard • un aileron arrière • un volant sport gainé de cuir • un pommeau du levier de vitesses gainé de cuir • des pédales en aluminium • un volant inclinable • des glaces à commandes électriques • le verrouillage central • des essuie-glaces intermittents à cadence variable • une ouverture à distance du coffre • un régulateur de vitesse • la climatisation automatique • le télédéverrouillage • les commandes du DCA sur le volant • une chaîne AM/FM/CD avec 6 haut-parleurs • etc.

Les modèles MR et MR Premium ajoutent (ou remplacent) : des phares avant à décharge à haute intensité • un grand aileron arrière • des prises d’air couleur de la carrosserie sur le capot et les ailes • des sièges en cuir/tissu • la clé FAST • une insonorisation supplémentaire • etc.

Les modèles MR ajoutent (ou remplacent) : les commandes audio sur le volant • la chaîne stéréo AM/FM Rockford Fosgate® de 650 watts (max) avec changeur de 6 CD, 8 haut-parleur et un haut-parleur des graves • la radio satellite Sirius® avec service gratuit pendant 6 mois • la navigation sur disque dur avec serveur de musique • le système mains libres Bluetooth® • le toit ouvrant électrique et le pare-soleil • etc.

Sécurité

La Lancer Evolution 2008 est fabriquée autour du concept RISE, le design monocoque « évolution de sécurité d’impact renforcée » de Mitsubishi. La structure de carrosserie RISE disperse les charges d’énergie en cas de collision arrière ou latérale et contrôle la distorsion, rehaussant ainsi la protection des occupants et protégeant le système d’alimentation de carburant en cas de collision arrière.

La Lancer Evolution 2008 inclut l’un des groupes de sécurité des plus complets dans le segment. On y trouve en effet : deux coussins gonflables perfectionnés à l’avant; des capteurs de présence des occupants; des coussins gonflables latéraux incrustés dans les sièges; des coussins gonflables latéraux de type rideau; un coussin gonflable pour les genoux du conducteur; des ceintures de sécurité avant réglables en hauteur avec prétendeurs et limiteurs de charge; un système LATCH pour sièges d’enfant; des freins antiblocage ABS sport avec répartition électronique de la force du freinage et un système de surveillance de la pression des pneus.

-30-

Personne-ressource des médias
Michelle Lee-Gracey
Mitsubishi Motor Sales of Canada
Manager, Public Relations
michelle.lee-gracey@mmcan.ca