Galant
Related Images (17)
View All
Jan 15, 2009 ID: 12776
Immediate Release

The 2009 Mitsubishi Galant: A bold new look for a refined midsize winner

New styling and Ralliart performance helps keep Galant a showroom success.

MISSISSAUGA, Ont. (January 15, 2009) – Mitsubishi’s new look 2009 Galant lineup is proving successful in showrooms across Canada. Spearheaded by the high performance Galant Ralliart, a sophisticated sports sedan powered by a 258 hp 3.8 litre V6 engine and equipped with sports suspension, the entire restyled midsize Galant lineup is ushering in a new year of segment leading Galant value.

The classically aggressive exterior styling of all 2009 Galant models is highlighted by a sophisticated front end treatment that includes a new grill, new hood and front bumper design. The attractive rear end also gets a fresh new look, while dramatic, new for 2009, paint colours include Maizen Blue, Quick Silver, Canyon Beige and Rave Red. Galant Ralliart models, sport 18 inch alloy wheels with P235/45R18 all season tires and are also distinguished by two-tone front and rear colour bumpers, colour-key side air dams and rear diffuser, and a Ralliart badge. Its front end also stands apart from other Galant models with projector-style four-bulb ellipsoid headlamps.

Three exceptionally engineered models – always a difficult choice.

For 2009, Mitsubishi Galant is available in three distinct trim levels: The Galant ES, Galant GT and the high performance Galant Ralliart.

The Galant ES is a well equipped, entry level midsize sedan powered by a 2.4 litre, SOHC, MIVEC 4-cylinder engine producing160 hp @ 5500 rpm and 157 lb.-ft torque @ 4000 rpm, with a standard 4-speed Sportronic® automatic transmission. Ideally suited to a young growing family, the ES is fuel efficient, roomy, and excellent value.

The new for 2009 Galant GT is both luxurious and sporty, and features a 3.8 litre, SOHC V6 producing 230 hp @ 5250 rpm and 250 lb ft of torque @ 4000 rpm, mated to a 5 speed Sportonic® automatic transmission. A combination that provides plenty of performance for most drivers. The new Galant GT also features dark bezel headlamps, body-colour bumpers and chrome grille surround and 17 inch alloy wheels with P215/55R17 all season tires. A terrific package.

But the real star of the 2009 lineup is the Galant Ralliart, a sophisticated sports sedan, with a complete Grand Touring performance package.

Ralliart: A Complete Grand Touring Performance Package

Capable of accelerating from zero-to-100 kph in about seven seconds, the 2009 Galant Ralliart has the heart of a high-performance GT car – the Mitsubishi Eclipse GT P, to be precise. Its 3.8 litre V6 produces 258 hp at 5,700 rpm and 258 lb.-ft. of peak torque at 4,500 rpm, making it one of the most powerful import brand sport sedans in the segment. The Mitsubishi Innovative Valve Timing Electronic Control system (MIVEC) helps optimize power and engine efficiency across a broad engine speed range. As an example of MIVEC’s benefits, the large-displacement V6 is already producing 220 lb-ft of torque at just 2,000 rpm, giving the Galant Ralliart plenty of power at low engine speeds, ideal for traffic maneuvering and critical highway passing. This exceptional V6 is matched to a five-speed Sportonic® automatic transmission which enables manual shift control by the driver when desired. As such, Ralliart will challenge the worlds best sport sedans by delivering superb performance while still delivering competitive pricing and renowned Mitsubishi value.

Ralliart features its own, higher-rate springs and dampers, and is exclusively equipped with a 21-mm rear stabilizer bar, and its P235/45R18 tires are mounted to 18 x 8 inch 10 spoke aluminum alloy wheels.

Inside, Galant Ralliart combines exclusive design and luxurious equipment, including standard perforated leather-trimmed seating surfaces, heated front seats, an automatic climate control system, a power glass sunroof with sunshade, a premium sound system, and a Homelink® transmitter with auto-dimming rear view mirror. Aluminum pedals and Dark Wood print accent panels further distinguish the Ralliart interior.

Suspension & Safety – A Robust Platform for Serious Driving

Built on a steel unibody platform using RISE technology, all 2009 Galant models are designed for sporty driving; and the body structure is tweaked for greater rigidity, which enhances ride and handling. The proven MacPherson strut front suspension system attaches to a sub-frame with a large, rigid cross member for responsive handling and reduced noise, vibration and harshness. A low mounted, multi-link rear suspension features stiff hydro-formed cross members that minimize flex and help reduce road noise. And standard side curtain air bags have been added to the comprehensive safety package, which includes advanced front air bags with occupant sensors, front seat-mounted side-impact air bags, LATCH system for CRS, engine immobilizer, and a tire pressure monitoring system.

All 2009 Galant models are equipped with four wheel disc brakes, with the GT and Ralliart featuring larger front discs. The Ralliart, in addition, features larger rear discs. An anti-lock braking system (ABS) with Electronic Brake-force Distribution (EBD) is standard, while GT and Ralliart models also feature traction control.

Galant GT and Ralliart models: Get ready for some real driving music

Mitsubishi is the first auto manufacturer to factory install the 360W Rockford Acoustic Design® premium audio system, making it standard equipment on the 2009 Galant GT and Ralliart models. This high end audio system – one of the most advanced on the market – provides AM/FM/CD/MP3 playback capability, including a 6-disc in-dash CD changer. The 8-channel amplifier produces 360 watts and a dedicated channel drives each speaker for the ultimate in sonic control. Silk dome tweeters mounted on the leading edge of the dash produce a natural multi-dimensional soundstage while Digital Signal Processing optimizes output to provide user-selectable listening environments, including Normal, Studio, Club and Concert.

A DVD navigation system with 7-inch touch screen is also standard on the Galant Ralliart. Galant GT features a standard 4.9-inch color LCD display that provides outside temperature and a compass, as well as a trip computer with fuel mileage information, a door alarm indicator, maintenance recorder, and calendar. The display also provides an interface that allows owners to customize many of the vehicle’s interior functions.

Comfort and Convenience for all

Every 2009 Galant is a well equipped automobile. Some key standard features include a 140-watt Mitsubishi AM/FM/CD/MP3 with playback capability and 6 speakers (ES); manual climate control (automatic for Ralliart), leatherette wrapped steering wheel and shift knob, cruise control, floor mats, and a power group that includes: dual heated side view mirrors, windows with driver illumination and auto down, trunk release, door locks with security logic and 8 way power driver’s seat (Ralliart).

Mitsubishi “10-5-5” Warranty – Best Backed Cars in the World

Mitsubishi cars and sport utility vehicles are backed by a comprehensive “10-5-5” warranty. The powertrain is covered by a 10 year or 160,000 km limited warranty. The new vehicle limited warranty is covered for 5 years or 100,000 km. Lancer Evolution, Lancer Sportback Ralliart and Lancer Ralliart are backed by a comprehensive "5-3-5" warranty. The powertrain is covered by a 5 year or 100,000 km limited warranty. The new vehicle limited warranty is covered for 3 years or 60,000 km. The program also includes, on all Mitsubishi cars and sport utility vehicles, 24/7 emergency roadside assistance with free towing to the nearest authorized Mitsubishi retailer for warranty related repairs, for 5 years and unlimited km and an anti-corrosion/perforation limited warranty for any body sheet metal panel found to have developed perforation (metal rust-through) due to corrosion in normal use for 5 years and unlimited km.

-30-

Media Contact
John Arnone
Manager, Public Relations

Galant
Photos connexes (17)
Tout voir
15 janv. 2009 N° d'ID: 12776
Diffusion immédiate

La Galant 2009 de Mitsubishi

Une nouvelle apparence et une performance à l’image de la Ralliart font de la Galant une continuelle favorite des salles d’exposition.

MISSISAUGA (Ontario), 15 janvier 2009. – La nouvelle gamme des Galant 2009 redessinées de Mitsubishi a beaucoup de succès dans les salles d’exposition au Canada avec, à sa tête, la Ralliart, une berline sportive sophistiquée à haute performance munie d’une suspension sport et propulsée par un moteur V6 de 3,8 litres produisant 258 chevaux. L’intégralité de la gamme redessinée des Galant entame la nouvelle année en tête de sa catégorie avec voitures intermédiaires offrant un rapport qualité/prix imbattable.

L’extérieur classique et sportif des Galant 2009 est tout d’abord souligné par un nouveau carénage avant, qui inclut une nouvelle calandre, un nouveau capot et un nouveau pare-chocs. L’arrière élégant a également été refait et les nouvelles peintures extérieures, telles que Bleu Maizen, Argent véloce, Beige des canyons et Rouge élogieux, lui vont à merveille. Le modèle Ralliart est reconnaissable à ses roues en alliage de 18 pouces, ses pneus toutes saisons P235/45R18, ses pare-chocs deux tons, ses prises d’air latérales et diffuseur arrière couleur de la carrosserie ainsi que son emblème Ralliart. L’avant se différencie également des autres modèles Galant par ses phares avant ellipsoïdes à projecteurs et quatre ampoules.

Entre trois modèles exceptionnels, le choix est toujours délicat.

Pour 2009, la Galant de Mitsubishi est disponible en trois versions : la Galant ES, Galant GT et la sportive Galant Ralliart.

La Galant ES est une berline intermédiaire bien équipée, propulsée par un moteur de 2,4 litres à 4 cylindres, SACT et MIVEC, qui produit une puissance de 160 chevaux à 5 500 tr/min et un couple de 157 lb/pi à 4 000 tr/min. Elle est munie d’une boîte automatique Sportronic® à 4 vitesses. Écoénergétique, spacieuse et offrant un excellent rapport qualité/prix, la Galant ES est idéale pour les jeunes familles qui s’agrandissent.

La nouvelle Galant GT 2009, luxueuse et sportive, est propulsée par un moteur V6 de 3,8 litres à SACT, produisant une puissance de 230 chevaux à 5 250 tr/min et un couple de 250 lb/pi à 4 000 tr/min, et par une boîte automatique Sportonic® à 5 vitesses. Ce modèle offre des performances qui sauront plaire aux conducteurs. De plus, la nouvelle Galant GT offre des encadrements de phares foncés, des pare-chocs couleur de la carrosserie, une calandre chromée, des roues en alliage de 17 pouces ainsi que des pneus toutes saisons P215/55R17. Une combinaison imbattable.

Pourtant, l’étoile de la gamme 2009 des Galant est incontestablement la Ralliart, une berline sportive sophistiquée qui propose des performances grand tourisme sérieuses.

La Ralliart : une voiture GT performante

Capable d’accélérer de 0 à 100 km/h en environ 7 secondes, l’âme de la Galant Ralliart est celle d’une voiture GT de performance… celle de l’Eclipse GT-P de Mitsubishi, pour être exact. Grâce à son moteur V6 de 3,8 litres qui produit une puissance de 258 chevaux à 5 700 tr/min et un couple de pointe de 258 lb-pi à 4 500 tr/min, elle est l’une des berlines sport importées des plus puissantes de sa catégorie. Le système de contrôle de la distribution innovateur de Mitsubishi (MIVEC) optimise la puissance et l’efficacité du moteur sur une large plage de régime. Pour tout dire, le V6 produit déjà un couple de 220 lb-pi à 2 000 tr/min, assurant une réponse formidable à bas régime idéale pour la circulation ou les dépassements sur l’autoroute. Son moteur V6 exceptionnel est associé à une boîte automatique Sportonic® à 5 vitesses qui permet également au conducteur de prendre le contrôle des vitesses quand bon lui semble. Ainsi équipée, la Ralliart s’imposera grandement dans le monde des berlines sportives grâce à sa performance à couper le souffle, à son prix abordable et à la notoriété de marque dont bénéficient les véhicules Mitsubishi.

La Galant Ralliart est munie de ressorts et d’amortisseurs exclusifs plus raides et c’est le seul modèle Galant équipé d’une barre stabilisatrice arrière. Les pneus toutes saisons 235/45R18 de la Ralliart entourent des jantes à 10 rayons en alliage d’aluminium de 18 x 8 po.

À l’intérieur, la Galant Ralliart allie élégance et luxe grâce aux sièges en cuir perforé, aux sièges avant chauffants, à la climatisation automatique, au toit ouvrant électrique avec pare-soleil et à l’émetteur Homelink® intégré au rétroviseur auto gradateur, tous offerts de série. Les pédales en aluminium et les panneaux accentués d’une garniture simili-bois foncée ajoutent une touche de distinction sportive et élégante.

Suspension et sécurité : une robustesse qui favorise une maniabilité sportive

Mitsubishi a conçu toutes les Galant avec la conduite sportive en ligne de mire. La carrosserie monocoque RISE en acier des Galant 2009 a été perfectionnée pour obtenir une plus grande rigidité, une meilleure tenue de route et la maniabilité plus agile. La suspension fiable à jambes de force MacPherson à l’avant est fixée aux sous-cadres par un longeron large et rigide qui favorise une maniabilité plus nerveuse et réduit le bruit et la vibration. La suspension arrière à bras multiples surbaissée est composée de longerons hydroformés rigides qui minimisent la flexion et réduisent le bruit de la route. Enfin, des coussins gonflables latéraux de type rideau ont été ajoutés aux caractéristiques de sécurité déjà innombrables, qui incluent entre autres des coussins gonflables avant perfectionnés, des capteurs de présence des occupants, des coussins gonflables latéraux incrustés dans les sièges avant, un système LATCH pour les sièges d’enfant, un antidémarreur antivol et un système de surveillance de la pression des pneus.

Tous les modèles Galant 2009 sont équipés de freins à disques aux 4 roues, qui ont été élargis à l’avant sur le modèle LS et à l’avant ainsi qu’à l’arrière pour la Ralliart. Les freins antiblocage (ABS) et la répartition électronique du freinage sont offerts de série sur toutes les versions de la Galant. De plus, les modèles GT et Ralliart sont munis de l’antipatinage.

Les Galant Ralliart et GT… Conduisez en musique!

Mitsubishi est le premier constructeur à installer une chaîne audio Rockford Acoustic Design® de 360 watts de série. Cette chaîne stéréo haut de gamme, l’une des plus perfectionnées actuellement disponibles sur le marché, est offerte de série sur les Galant GT et Ralliart 2009. Elle comprend une radio AM/FM et un changeur de 6 CD dans la planche de bord, compatible avec le format MP3. Un amplificateur linéaire à 8 canaux produit 360 watts continus. Chaque haut-parleur possède son propre canal afin d’assurer un contrôle sonore ultime. Des haut-parleurs d’aigus à dômes en soie, installés sur le rebord de la planche de bord, ajoutent une sonorité multidimensionnelle naturelle. Le processeur du signal numérique optimise la sortie du son et permet au conducteur de choisir entre les modes « Normal », « Studio », « Club » et « Concert ».

Les Galant Ralliart et GT incluent également de série un système de navigation par DVD, composé d’un écran tactile de 7 pouces. La Galant GT arbore un écran couleur à ACL de 4,9 pouces, affichant la température extérieure et la boussole, ainsi qu’un ordinateur de voyage, calculant des données sur la consommation de carburant et comprenant un voyant de portière, un enregistreur d’entretien et un calendrier. L’interface de l’écran d’affichage permet également aux propriétaires de personnaliser de nombreuses fonctions du véhicule.

Confort et commodité pour tous

Toutes les Galant 2009 sont très bien équipées. Les caractéristiques de série principales incluent : une chaîne stéréo AM/FM/CD/MP3 de 140 watts; 6 haut-parleurs (ES); la climatisation à commandes manuelles (à commandes automatique sur la Ralliart), un volant et un pommeau du levier de vitesses gainés de cuirette; un régulateur de vitesse; des tapis de protection; des rétroviseurs chauffants à commandes électriques; des glaces à commandes électriques à ouverture automatique côté conducteur; l’ouverture électrique du coffre; le verrouillage électrique sélectif et un siège du conducteur à 8 réglages électriques (Ralliart).

La garantie « 10-5-5 » de Mitsubishi : Les voitures les mieux protégées au monde

Tous les véhicules utilitaires sport et les voitures Mitsubishi sont protégés par la garantie complète « 10-5-5 ». Le groupe motopropulseur est couvert par une garantie limitée de 10 ans ou 160 000 km. La garantie limitée du véhicule neuf couvre l’ensemble du véhicule pendant 5 ans ou 100 000 kilomètres. Les modèles Lancer Evolution, Lancer Sportback Ralliart et Lancer Ralliart sont couverts par une garantie complète « 5-3-3 ». Le groupe motopropulseur est couvert par une garantie limitée de 5 ans ou 100 000 km. La garantie limitée du véhicule neuf couvre l’ensemble du véhicule pendant 3 ans ou 60 000 kilomètres. Le programme inclut également, pour tous les véhicules utilitaires sport et les voitures Mitsubishi, l’assistance routière d’urgence 24h/24. Ce programme assure le remorquage gratuit jusqu’au concessionnaire Mitsubishi agréé le plus proche pour les réparations de garantie, pendant 5 ans et kilométrage illimité. De plus, il offre qu’une garantie limitée anticorrosion/perforation sur tous les panneaux de carrosserie qui aurait été abimés par la corrosion (métal rouillé) à la suite d’un usage normal pendant 5 ans et kilométrage illimité.

-30-

Personne-ressource des médias
Michelle Lee-Gracey
Mitsubishi Motor Sales of Canada
Manager, Public Relations
michelle.lee-gracey@mmcan.ca