Endeavor
Related Images (24)
View All
Sep 08, 2006 ID: 313
Immediate Release

2006 Endeavor - Model Overview

MISSISSAUGA, Ont. – The 2006 Mitsubishi Endeavor continues to define the midsize crossover segment by balancing the styling and utility of an SUV with the driving performance and handling of a passenger car. Endeavor is made for people with a need for space, who prefer the dynamics of a car, and still get the occasional inspiration to go off-road.

The 2006 Endeavor lineup offers three versatile model variations: An affordable front wheel drive LS, an equally attractive LS AWD and a feature packed LTD, also with all wheel drive. Improved safety features, updated styling, greater comfort and even more convenience are all addressed in the new 2006 Endeavor.

“Our new Endeavor offers a special blend of style, roominess, performance and value rarely found in the competitive midsize SUV class,” said Paul Cummings, President and CEO of Mitsubishi Motor Sales of Canada Inc. “This beautifully engineered vehicle is truly the hallmark of its class – and it’s a thrill to drive.”

Bolder Exterior, Richer Interior

The new Endeavor has a bolder front end accentuated by a stylish new chrome grille. The front bumper and chin spoiler are more daring, and tightly balance the new styling of the rear bumper and the new bumper extension. Platinum Pearl is an exciting addition to the Endeavor palette of exterior colour choices. Inside, for 2006, the interior has a richer appearance with the addition of beige trim, chrome accents to the instrument panel controls, and a new black metallic finish for the centre console. Heated font seats and MP3 playback capability are also now standard equipment in every Endeavor.

Upgraded Safety

Standard safety features on every Endeavor will satisfy the most discriminating SUV buyer. For 2006, anti-lock braking (ABS) with electronic brakeforce distribution (EBD) is standard, and traction control is included on the LS 2WD. A tire pressure monitoring system alerts Endeavor drivers when tire pressure is low, which may help slow tire wear, and reduce the potential for a blowout. Other features include advanced Dual Stage front air bags and front seat mounted side impact air bags plus a full size spare wheel and tire with a towing prep package. All five seating positions have 3 point safety belts. Front seats have height adjustable shoulder anchors plus pretentioners and force limiters for the front belts.

Function Working With Form

A well engineered crossover SUV needs to offer its owner a level of function and capability that far exceeds that of a car, and the 2006 Endeavor excels in this capacity. Large doors and ideal ride height facilitate easy entry and exit of five adult passengers. And the roomy interior provides sufficient rear legroom to transport all in comfort. Driver and passenger view the road from an elevated position, sitting on wide, comfortable front seats. The rear suspension is low enough to allow a large, broad, and flat cargo floor that facilitates loading and unloading. The easy to operate tailgate swings upward high enough to clear taller heads and reveals a cargo area that can accommodate a four foot wide sheet of plywood. In addition, the curved rear hatch glass can be opened independently of the rear tailgate, perfect for loading smaller items. Functional roof rails are standard equipment and the LTD roof rack includes cross members that facilitate the mounting of accessories. Endeavor also features an integrated keyless remote, with a panic button for greater convenience.

Drivetrain

Every Endeavor is powered by a responsive 3.8 litre, SOHC, 24 valve V6 engine that provides brisk acceleration, efficient fuel economy and exceptional drivability. This proven engine produces 225 hp at 5000 rpm and peak torque of 255 lb ft at 3750 rpm which propels the LS 2WD from zero to 100 km/hr in under 10 seconds. All Endeavors feature a 4 speed Sportronic™ automatic transmission that allows drivers to manually shift gears if desired. AWD models utilize a transfer case that combines a bevel gear centre differential with a viscous coupling, to achieve a 50/50 torque split between the front and rear wheels, which provides greatly improved traction and control in all driving conditions.

Suspension

Graceful yet precise handling is the result of a well engineered fully independent suspension that provides superior stability and ride quality. The front design uses MacPherson struts, with the addition of a large rigid cross member to help control torsional flexing. The rear utilizes a multi-link configuration with trailing arms and coil springs. Hydroformed cross members help to reduce flex and road noise. The power steering system is a rack and pinion design with car like responsiveness.

Models / Trim Levels

Endeavor is available as an LS 2WD (front wheel drive), an LS AWD and a LTD, also full time All Wheel Drive. The LS and LTD cover a wide range of standard features and also offer popular optional equipment combinations. Endeavor adds MP3 playback capability to every CD system for 2006.

The well equipped Endeavor LS includes all the expected amenities such as air conditioning, power accessories, AM/FM/CD audio system and roomy centre console storage. Other standards include front air bags and front seat mounted side impact air bags, a 60/40 rear seat, a driver’s side vanity mirror and four accessory outlets. The LS is visually distinguished by 17-inch, 5-spoke cast aluminum wheels. An available Road Trip package includes a one touch sunroof, Mitsubishi/Infiniti® 6 CD audio system with 7 speakers and steering wheel audio controls, a colour centre information display, sports steering wheel and security alarm system.

The Endeavor LTD adds even more, including premium fabric seats, a power driver’s seat, auto A/C with mid cabin controls and a Mitsubishi/Infiniti® 6 CD audio system with 7 speakers and steering wheel audio controls. A rear DVD-video entertainment system with two wireless headphones and a remote control is an option. The LTD leather package includes leather seating surfaces and a leather-wrapped steering wheel.

Mitsubishi “10-5-5” Warranty – Best Backed Cars in the World

All Mitsubishi cars and sport utility vehicles are backed by a comprehensive “10 5 5” warranty. The powertrain is covered by a 10 year or 160,000 km limited warranty. The new vehicle limited warranty covers from bumper to bumper for 5 years or 100,000 km and the body panels have a 7 year or 160,000 km anti corrosion/perforation limited warranty. The program also includes 24/7 emergency roadside assistance with free towing to the nearest authorized Mitsubishi retailer for warranty related repairs, for 5 years and unlimited km.

-30-

Media Contact
John Arnone
Manager, Public Relations

Endeavor
Photos connexes (24)
Tout voir
08 sept. 2006 N° d'ID: 313
Diffusion immédiate

L’Endeavor 2006 – Robuste. Raffiné. Et beaucoup plus.

MISSISSAUGA, Ontario. – L’Endeavor 2006 de Mitsubishi continue de définir la catégorie des véhicules utilitaires sport intermédiaires multisegment par l'équilibre qu'il établit entre le style et la commodité d'un utilitaire sport et la performance de conduite et la tenue de route d’une voiture de tourisme. L’Endeavor a été conçu pour les gens qui ont besoin d’espace, qui préfèrent la dynamique d'une voiture et qui ont le goût à l'occasion de rouler hors route.

La gamme d’Endeavor 2006 est offerte en trois modèles polyvalents : le modèle LS à traction avant abordable, le modèle LS à transmission intégrale tout aussi attrayant et le modèle LTD tout équipé doté de la transmission intégrale. Le nouvel Endeavor 2006 regroupe des caractéristiques de sécurité améliorées, un style au goût du jour, un confort accru et même plus de commodité.

« Le nouvel Endeavor offre une combinaison de style, de spaciosité, de performance et de valeur rarement vue dans les utilitaires sport intermédiaires des concurrents, déclare Paul Cummings, président et chef de la direction, MMSCAN. Ce véhicule admirablement bien conçu est vraiment le joyau de sa catégorie – et le conduire est très excitant. »

Extérieur plus audacieux, intérieur plus riche

L’avant du nouvel Endeavor est plus audacieux; il est doté d'une nouvelle calandre chromée et stylisée. Le pare-chocs avant et le becquet auxiliaire sont audacieux et ils complètent bien le nouveau style du pare-chocs arrière et son nouvel embout. La couleur Platine nacré fait maintenant partie du choix excitant de couleurs de carrosserie de l’Endeavor. L'habitacle de l'Endeavor 2006 a une apparence beaucoup plus riche avec l'ajout de garnitures de couleur beige, de garnitures chromées aux commandes du tableau de bord et du fini noir métallisé sur la console centrale. Des sièges avant chauffants et un lecteur MP3 font aussi partie de l’équipement de série de chaque Endeavor.

Sécurité accrue

Les caractéristiques de sécurité de série de chaque Endeavor satisferont les acheteurs d'utilitaires sport les plus exigeants. En 2006, le système de freinage antiblocage (ABS) et la répartition électronique de la force de freinage (EBD) sont de série tandis que le système antipatinage fait partie de l’équipement du modèle LS 2RM. Un système de surveillance de la pression des pneus avertit les conducteurs de l’Endeavor lorsque la pression est faible, ce qui peut contribuer à ralentir l’usure des pneus et réduire les risques de crevaison. Parmi les autres caractéristiques, on trouve les sacs gonflables avant à déploiement adapté, les sacs gonflables latéraux montés aux sièges avant, une roue de secours et un pneu pleines dimensions ainsi que l'ensemble remorquage. Des ceintures de sécurité à 3 points sont installées aux 5 places. Les sièges avant possèdent des ancrages de baudrier réglables en hauteur et des prétendeurs avec limiteurs d'effort pour les ceintures avant.

Dans l'Endeavor, espace et commodité vont de pair

Un utilitaire sport multisegment bien conçu doit offrir à son propriétaire des niveaux de fonctionnement et de capacité qui surpassent de loin ceux d’une voiture, et l'Endeavor 2006 réussit très bien à cet égard. Les grandes portes et la hauteur idéale de l’Endeavor permettent à cinq passagers adultes de pénétrer plus facilement dans le véhicule et d'en sortir avec tout autant d’aisance. L’intérieur spacieux offre suffisamment de dégagement arrière pour les jambes pour que tous se déplacent en tout confort. Le conducteur et le passager avant voient la route d'une position élevée, bien assis sur les sièges avant larges et confortables. La suspension arrière est suffisamment basse pour permettre que l’espace de chargement dispose d’un large plancher plat, facilitant ainsi le chargement et le déchargement. Le hayon est facile à opérer et s’ouvre à une hauteur plus élevée que les personnes les plus grandes. Son espace peut loger des panneaux contreplaqués d’une largeur de 4 pieds. De plus, pour charger les petits articles, on peut ouvrir la lunette arrière sans ouvrir le hayon. Des longerons de galerie de toit font partie de l’équipement de série et la galerie de toit du modèle LTD comprend des traverses qui facilitent la fixation des accessoires. L’Endeavor offre aussi le télédéverrouillage intégré avec bouton d'alarme pour plus de commodité.

Groupe motopropulseur

Chaque Endeavor est propulsé par un moteur V6 de 3,8 L à 24 soupapes et SACT qui permet une accélération rapide, une bonne économie de carburant et une tenue de route exceptionnelle. Ce moteur éprouvé développe 225 ch à 5 000 tr/min et un couple maximal de 255 lb-pi à 3 750 tr/min, propulsant ainsi le modèle LS 2RM de 0 à 100 km/h en moins de 10 secondes. Tous les Endeavor sont équipés d’une boîte de vitesses automatique SportronicMD qui permet aux conducteurs de changer manuellement les vitesses s'ils le souhaitent. Les modèles à transmission intégrale emploient une boîte de transfert qui combine un différentiel central à couple conique et un viscocoupleur pour produire une répartition de couple 50/50 entre les roues avant et les roues arrière et procurer une adhérence et un contrôle plus sûrs dans toutes les conditions de conduite.

Suspension

Grâce à une suspension à quatre roues indépendantes bien pensée qui assure une stabilité et une qualité de roulement supérieures, la tenue de route de l'Endeavor est à la fois confortable et précise. On trouve à l’avant des jambes de force MacPherson en plus de larges traverses rigides qui aident à contrôler la torsion. La suspension arrière utilise une configuration multibras avec bras de torsion et ressorts hélicoïdaux. Les traverses hydroformées aident à réduire les bruits de la route et la flexion. La direction à crémaillère assistée possède la sensibilité d’une voiture.

Modèles / Niveaux de garniture

Les modèles suivants de l’Endeavor sont offerts : LS 2RM (traction avant), LS TI et LTD TI à prise permanente. Les modèles LS et LTD possèdent beaucoup d’équipements en série et offrent des ensembles d’options très populaires. En 2006, chaque système CD de l'Endeavor possède une fonction de lecture MP3.

Le modèle LS bien équipé de l’Endeavor comprend toutes les commodités auxquelles on s’attend, comme la climatisation, les accessoires électriques, le système audio avec radio AM/FM et lecteur de CD et le grand espace de rangement dans la console centrale. L’équipement suivant est aussi offert de série : sacs gonflables avant et sacs gonflables latéraux montés aux sièges avant, banquette arrière à dossier divisé 60/40, miroir de courtoisie côté conducteur et quatre prises d’alimentation. Le modèle LS se distingue visuellement par ses roues de 17 po en aluminium coulé à cinq branches. Le groupe randonnée offert en option comprend un toit ouvrant à commande monotouche, un système audio Mitsubishi/InfinityMD avec changeur de 6 CD et 7 haut-parleurs et des commandes audio au volant, un moniteur couleur à affichage, un volant sport et un système antivol.

Le modèle LTD de l'Endeavor comprend encore plus d'équipements, avec des sièges en tissu Premium, un siège du conducteur à réglage électrique, un climatiseur automatique avec commandes à la deuxième rangée, un système audio Mitsubishi/InfinityMD avec changeur de 6 CD et 7 haut-parleurs et des commandes audio au volant. Un système de divertissement vidéo avec lecteur DVD arrière, deux casques d'écoute sans fil et une télécommande sont offerts en option. L’ensemble cuir du LTD comprend une sellerie de cuir et un volant gainé de cuir.

La garantie 10-5-5 Mitsubishi – Les véhicules les mieux protégés au monde

Tous les véhicules et utilitaires sport Mitsubishi sont protégés par une nouvelle garantie limitée 10-5-5 complète sur les véhicules neufs Mitsubishi pendant 5 ans ou 100 000 kilomètres. De plus, le groupe motopropulseur est couvert par une garantie limitée de 10 ans ou 160 000 kilomètres, tandis que la garantie limitée pour les panneaux de carrosserie est de 7 ans ou 160 000 km contre les perforations causées par la corrosion. Ce programme comprend également une assistance routière 24 heures par jour, 7 jours par semaine, avec remorquage sans frais chez le concessionnaire Mitsubishi autorisé le plus près pour les réparations au titre de la garantie pendant 5 ans ou kilométrage illimité.

-30-

Personne-ressource des médias
Michelle Lee-Gracey
Mitsubishi Motor Sales of Canada
Manager, Public Relations
michelle.lee-gracey@mmcan.ca