Eclipse Spyder
Related Images (30)
View All
Sep 08, 2006 ID: 311
Immediate Release

Gorgeous 2007 Eclipse Spyder Redefines Modern Top Down Motoring

MISSISSAUGA, Ont. – Sporting a high-tech convertible top, knockout styling and luxurious appointments, Mitsubishi Motor Sales of Canada Inc. introduces the 2007 Eclipse Spyder – an attainable high performance Grand Touring / Sports car that perfectly complements the recently launched, totally new Eclipse Coupe.

Certain to appeal to both convertible enthusiasts and sports car aficionados, the sensuous and powerful Eclipse Spyder offers room for four, a disappearing top, Ice Blue gauges and a choice of dashboard colours. Two models are available: The well equipped Eclipse Spyder GS, powered by a 2.4 litre, 162 hp MIVEC engine and the luxurious GT Premium which features a 3.8 litre, 260 hp MIVEC V6 engine.

“Compromise was not part of the equation”, said Paul Cummings, President and Chief Executive Officer of Mitsubishi Motor Sales of Canada Inc. “Spyder is a beautifully engineered open air sports car that looks great, goes fast, seats four and has a terrific convertible top. No other sports car company offers anything comparable, for anything like the price. The 2007 Eclipse Spyder is unbeatable.”

Convertible means Convertible

Impressively, almost magically, the convertible top in the 2007 Eclipse Spyder disappears, completely. Once activated the Spyder’s automatic power top folds completely out of site, underneath a flush fitting powered tonneau cover. The entire operation, from start to totally hidden, takes about 19 seconds. Viewed from the side there is no unsightly “baby buggy bump”, just a graceful profile. Unlike some others, the Spyder’s top is made of high quality woven cloth, not vinyl. Its advanced multilayer construction includes a full headliner which provides a cozy, snug feeling when raised. And when closed, the exterior top profile is reminiscent of the classic “speedster” look. The Spyder top is very carefully engineered to resist ballooning at speed and to provide a quiet inside environment with a minimum of wind noise. The Spyder top also features a glass rear window with a timed defroster.

Exterior – Engineered to Turn Some Pretty Heads

The 2007 Eclipse Spyder is a very attractive sports car. Athletic shapes and a wind tunnel inspired front fascia help the Spyder stand out from the crowd. Purposeful front and rear fenders suggest images of stability and power. Spyder’s graceful silhouette is wedge shaped, highlighted by a forward cab and trim waistline that shout performance. From the front, large fenders help to accommodate the wide track and reinforce the Spyder’s hunkered down look, while air intakes in the fascia help reinforce an image of purpose. And an added benefit of this sleek exterior is a low coefficient of drag, for better fuel efficiency.

Interior – Specifically Designed for Showing Off

Convertible owners expect to be seen. And the Spyder’s interior is styled with this in mind. The large, round, easy to read, distinctive instruments and gauges are motorcycle inspired and feature exotic, Ice Blue nighttime illumination. The wave-form shaped instrument panel and dash houses convenient, intuitive, ergonomic controls. The centre stack features a climate and audio control area designed to resemble a modern entertainment interface. And new for 2007, the customer may choose from three available instrument panel and dash colour schemes; Techno-Sport (charcoal), Hi-Q Sport (medium gray), plus Avante Garde (terra cotta), which is only available in the GT Premium.

A Sport Touch steering wheel is complemented by a leather wrapped shift knob. And one piece high back front buckets, inspired by Mitsubishi rally cars, have open headrests for a sporty look and enhanced rear visibility. For making that musical statement, every Spyder is equipped with a 650W Rockford Fosgate premium audio system with 6 disc, in dash, CD/MP3 player, 9 speakers including an 8” subwoofer, PUNCH Audio Dynamics, with steering wheel mounted controls. This spectacular sound also features a unique to Spyder, automatic sound equalization system, for top up or top down driving.

Additional standard features for Eclipse Spyder GS models includes the following and much more: Power group – convertible top, sideview mirrors, door locks with security logic, windows + driver side auto down, heated front seats, fog lamps, climate control, hard tonneau cover, halogen headlights with auto shutoff, cruise control, trunk opener, 17” Lipless five spoke alloy wheels. Spyder GT Premium models add: Automatic climate control, leather surfaced seats, adjustable 6 way power drivers seat, aluminum pedals, 18” Lipless seven spoke alloy wheels.

Drivetrain – Either Choice is the Perfect Choice for Adventure

The 2007 Eclipse Spyder is powered by one of two superb engines. The Spyder GS uses Mitsubishi’s acclaimed 2.4 litre, SOHC, 16 valve, MIVEC 4 cylinder engine, producing 162 hp @ 6000 rpm and 162 lb ft of torque @ 4000 rpm. The MIVEC system (Mitsubishi Innovative Valve timing and lift Electronic Control) makes use of different sized camshaft lobes to vary valve lift and duration, producing optimum power at all engine speeds, ensuring that the Eclipse Spyder GS achieves high levels of performance. This flexible engine is mated to a smooth shifting 5 speed manual transmission or an optional Sportronic™ sequential shift 4 speed automatic.

The Eclipse Spyder GT Premium is perfect for those who enjoy the music of top down exhaust notes with their luxury. The GT Premium features a 3.8 litre, 60 degree, aluminum head, SOHC, 24 valve V6 engine, also enhanced by the MIVEC system. Rated at 260 horsepower @ 5750 rpm and 258 lb-ft of torque @ 4500 rpm, this willing V6 provides significant power and tremendous torque throughout the rev range. This responsive 3.8 litre V6 is mated to either a smooth shifting 6-speed manual transmission or a sophisticated 5-speed automatic transmission with Sportronic™ mode. Sportronic™ allows the spirited driver to manually control clutchless shifts with the simple push or pull of the shift lever.

Chassis, Suspension & Steering

The Eclipse Spyder steel unibody structure is extremely strong and rigid. Every opening, including doors, hatch and engine compartment is reinforced to resist the extra bending and twisting forces exerted on an open top automobile. Spyder’s body employs high tensile strength steel panels to reduce body weight and increase rigidity, as well as new straight frame rails. This exceptionally robust structure is the key to ride quality, handling performance and feel, plus overall refinement and safety.

Spyder’s fully independent suspension provides superior stability, excellent ride quality and precise, predictable handling. The front end uses MacPherson struts with the addition of a large rigid cross-member to help control torsional flexing. The rear utilizes a multi-link configuration with trailing arms and coil springs. Anti-sway bars are employed at both front and rear. The 2007 Spyder uses a proven rack-and-pinion power steering design which provides direct feeling and response, while effort multiplication allows low speed steering control that makes parking and tight maneuvering easy.

Safety and Brakes

Safety equipment includes advanced driver and front passenger airbags with Dual Stage inflators and driver’s seat position occupant sensors, front passenger seat occupant weight sensors and front seat mounted side-impact airbags. All seating positions have 3 point safety belts. Front seats have pretentioners and force limiters for the front safety belts.

Four wheel disc brakes are standard on every Eclipse Spyder. The large front ventilated discs measure 294mm in diameter. Rear brakes are 262mm solid discs on the GS, and 284mm ventilated discs on the GT Premium. Coupled with standard anti-lock braking (ABS) and electronic brakeforce distribution (EBD), the Eclipse Spyder’s powerful, fade resistant brakes provide excellent control during high speed braking and on rain soaked or low traction roads.

Moving forward

The 2007 Eclipse Spyder is the third in a series of six new Mitsubishi vehicles to be introduced to North America in less than three years. The first was the 2006 Eclipse Coupe, followed by the Raider pick-up truck (USA). Upcoming new models include a second generation Outlander SUV, the new Lancer sedan and the tenth version of the legendary Lancer Evolution. The 2007 Eclipse Spyder will begin arriving in Mitsubishi retailer showrooms in April, 2006. MSRP before taxes and freight for the GS will be around 36.0M CDN.

Mitsubishi “10-5-5” Warranty – Best Backed Cars in the World

All Mitsubishi cars and sport utility vehicles are backed by a comprehensive “10 5 5” warranty. The powertrain is covered by a 10 year or 160,000 km limited warranty. The new vehicle limited warranty covers from bumper to bumper for 5 years or 100,000 km and the body panels have a 7 year or 160,000 km anti corrosion/perforation limited warranty. The program also includes 24/7 emergency roadside assistance with free towing to the nearest authorized Mitsubishi retailer for warranty related repairs, for 5 years and unlimited km.

-30-

Media Contact
John Arnone
Manager, Public Relations

Eclipse Spyder
Photos connexes (30)
Tout voir
08 sept. 2006 N° d'ID: 311
Diffusion immédiate

Le magnifique cabriolet Eclipse Spyder 2007 redéfinit la conduite « capote baissée »

MISSISSAUGA, Ontario. – Capote escamotable de haute technicité, esthétique fracassante et agréments somptueux, Ventes de véhicules Mitsubishi du Canada, inc. présente l'Eclipse Spyder 2007, cabriolet grand tourisme sportif, très performant et abordable, le parfait compagnon du tout nouveau coupé Eclipse lancé récemment.

Parée pour séduire les passionnés de décapotables et les amateurs de voitures sport, l'Eclipse Spyder, sensuelle et puissante, offre quatre places, une capote escamotable, un éclairage bleu glacé pour l'instrumentation et un choix de couleurs pour le tableau de bord. Deux modèles sont proposés : la GS, généreusement équipée, mue par un moteur MIVEC de 2,4 litres et 162 ch et la somptueuse GT Premium, propulsée par un V6 MIVEC de 3,8 litres et 260 ch.

« Il n'a jamais été question de compromis, déclare Paul Cummings, président et chef de la direction de Ventes de véhicules Mitsubishi du Canada, inc. La Spyder est une sportive à ciel ouvert splendidement conçue, attrayante, rapide, comportant quatre places et une capote sensationnelle. Aucun autre constructeur de voitures sport n'offre quoi que ce soit de comparable dans la même gamme de prix. L'Eclipse Spyder 2007 est imbattable. »

Une « vraie » décapotable

Impressionnante, la capote de l'Eclipse Spyder 2007 disparaît complètement, comme par magie! Une fois son retrait activé, la capote automatique à commande électrique se rabat et disparaît complètement sous un couvre-capote motorisé affleuré. La manœuvre, du début à la fin, prend environ dix-neuf secondes. De profil, aucun amas de toile repliée ne vient déparer la gracieuse silhouette du cabriolet. Contrairement à la capote d'autres cabriolets, celle de la Spyder est fabriquée de toile de haute qualité et non pas en vinyle. D'une conception avancée, elle comporte plusieurs épaisseurs, dont une garniture de pavillon complète qui confère à l'habitacle un confort douillet. Lorsqu'elle est fermée, sa silhouette extérieure rappelle le look des « speedsters ». La capote de la Spyder a été savamment conçue pour éviter le ballonnement à grande vitesse et assurer la quiétude de l'habitacle en réduisant au minimum les bruits du vent. Elle comporte en outre une lunette en verre dotée d'un dégivreur temporisé.

Extérieur – Étudié pour faire tourner les têtes

L'Eclipse Spyder 2007 est une sportive très séduisante. Ses lignes athlétiques et son carénage avant aérodynamique la démarquent manifestement. Les ailes avant et arrière bien conçues aident à communiquer une image de puissance et de sécurité. Sa silhouette impressionnante est taillée en biseau, rehaussée par un habitacle et une ceinture de caisse qui mettent en évidence sa performance. À l’avant, les grandes ailes intègrent bien la voie large et renforcent l’allure abaissée de la Spyder, tandis que les admissions d'air dans le carénage avant véhiculent une image de détermination. Cette physionomie élancée bénéficie d'un faible coefficient de traînée, favorable à une économie de carburant supérieure.

Habitacle – Conçu pour en mettre plein la vue

Les propriétaires de décapotables se savent aux yeux de tous. C'est pourquoi, l'habitacle de la Spyder est ce qu'il est. Les instruments ronds, fortement dimensionnés, bien lisibles et élégants, inspirés des cadrans de motocyclettes, sont agrémentés d'un éclairage de nuit bleu glacé exotique. Le tableau de bord au mouvement ondulé abrite des commandes pratiques, intuitives et ergonomiques. La section centrale du tableau de bord est composée d'un groupe de commandes de climatisation et du système audio conçu pour ressembler à une interface audio moderne. La mouture 2007 propose en outre trois ambiances de tableaux de bord : Techno-Sport (anthracite), Hi-Q Sport (gris moyen) et, en exclusivité sur la GT Premium, Avante Garde (terre cuite).

Le volant Sport Touch est assorti d'un pommeau de levier de vitesses gainé de cuir. Les sièges baquets avant à haut dossier monopièce, inspirés des voitures de rallye Mitsubishi, comportent un appui-tête ouvert d'allure sportive qui améliore la visibilité vers l’arrière. Pour combler les audiophiles, toutes les Spyder sont équipées d'un système Rockford Fosgate de 650 W avec changeur de 6 CD compatible MP3 au tableau de bord, 9 haut-parleurs, y compris un haut-parleur d’extrêmes graves de 8 po, modes audio dynamiques PUNCH et commandes au volant. Cette spectaculaire chaîne sono comporte en outre un égalisateur automatique, réservé à la Spyder, pour conduite capotée ou décapotée.

Parmi les autres équipements livrés de série sur les modèles GS, mentionnons : équipement assisté/à commande électrique – capote, rétroviseurs extérieurs, verrouillage des portes à logique de sécurité, lève-glaces à commande électrique et descente de glace automatique côté conducteur • sièges avant chauffants • phares antibrouillard • climatisation • couvre-capote rigide • phares aux halogènes à extinction automatique • régulateur de vitesse • ouverture du coffre • roues en alliage de 17 po sans rebord, à cinq branches. Les modèles GT Premium offrent en outre : climatisation à régulation automatique • assises de sièges en cuir • siège du conducteur à 6 réglages électriques • pédales en aluminium • roues en alliage de 18 po, sans rebord, à 7 branches.

Groupe motopropulseur – Deux choix, parfaits pour l’aventure

L'Eclipse Spyder 2007 est propulsée par l’un des deux excellents moteurs ci-dessous. La Spyder GS est équipée du célèbre moteur 4 cylindres MIVEC de 2,4 L, à 16 soupapes et SACT de Mitsubishi, qui développe une puissance de 162 ch à 6 000 tr/min et un couple de 162 lb pi à 4 000 tr/min. Le système MIVEC (système de commande électronique de calage et levée des soupapes innovateur de Mitsubishi) emploie des bossages d'arbre à cames de différentes grandeurs pour faire varier la levée et la durée de levée des soupapes, produisant ainsi une puissance optimale à tous les régimes de moteur et assurant un haut niveau de performance de l’Eclipse Spyder GS. Ce moteur souple est jumelé à une boîte manuelle 5 vitesses à passages en douceur ou à une boîte automatique 4 vitesses à commande séquentielle SportronicMD.

L'Eclipse Spyder GT Premium est parfaite pour ceux qui aiment joindre au luxe, l'échappement musical du moteur, capté cheveux au vent. Le modèle GT Premium est équipé d’un moteur V6 incliné à 60 degrés de 3,8 L à 24 soupapes et SACT aussi muni du système MIVEC. Évalué à 260 ch à 5 750 tr/min et 258 lb-pi à 4 500 tr/min, ce moteur V6 performant développe une puissance considérable et un très grand couple pour toute la gamme de régimes. Le moteur V6 de 3,8 L est jumelé à une boîte manuelle 6 vitesses à passages en douceur ou à une boîte automatique 5 vitesses sophistiquée avec mode SportronicMD. Ce mode permet aux conducteurs passionnés d'effectuer manuellement des passages sans embrayage avec une simple poussée ou traction du levier de vitesses.

Châssis, suspension et direction

La structure monocoque en acier de l'Eclipse Spyder est extrêmement résistante et rigide. Chaque ouverture, y compris les portes, le hayon et le compartiment moteur, a été renforcée pour résister à la flexion et à la torsion qui s’exercent sur une voiture décapotable. La carrosserie de la Spyder emploie des panneaux d’acier hautement résistant à la traction qui permettent de réduire le poids et d’augmenter la rigidité, ainsi que de nouveaux longerons droits. Cette structure exceptionnellement robuste est l'élément clé de la qualité de roulement, de la tenue de route, de la performance et de la perception de la route, en plus du raffinement général et de la sécurité.

La suspension entièrement indépendante de la Spyder assure une stabilité et une qualité de roulement supérieures et une tenue de route précise et prévisible. On trouve à l’avant des jambes de force MacPherson en plus de larges traverses rigides qui aident à contrôler la torsion. La suspension arrière utilise une configuration multibras avec bras de torsion et ressorts hélicoïdaux. Les barres stabilisatrices sont utilisées à l’avant et à l’arrière. La Spyder 2007 utilise une direction assistée à crémaillère éprouvée qui offre une impression de réaction et de contrôle directs, tandis que le système de multiplication d'effort assure la maîtrise de la voiture à faible vitesse, ce qui facilite les manœuvres de stationnement et de conduite.

Sécurité et freins

L’équipement de sécurité comprend les sacs gonflables avant de pointe à déploiement adapté et les capteurs de position du siège du conducteur, les détecteurs d'occupation du siège du passager avant et les sacs gonflables latéraux aux sièges avant. Des ceintures de sécurité à 3 points sont installées à toutes les places. Les ceintures de sécurité des sièges avant sont dotées de prétendeurs et de limiteurs de force.

Des freins à disque aux 4 roues font partie de l’équipement de série de chaque Eclipse Spyder. Les grands disques ventilés avant mesurent 294 mm de diamètre. Les freins arrière sont dotés d'un disque plein de 262 mm de diamètre sur la GS et d'un disque ventilé de 284 mm de diamètre sur la GT Premium. Jumelés au système de freinage antiblocage (ABS) et de répartition électronique de la force de freinage (EBD), les freins puissants et très résistants à l’évanouissement de l’Eclipse Spyder assurent un excellent contrôle de freinage en situation d'arrêt à haute vitesse et sur les chaussées mouillées ou à faible adhérence.

Toujours plus loin

L'Eclipse Spyder 2007 est le troisième d'une série de six nouveaux véhicules Mitsubishi lancés en Amérique du Nord en moins de trois ans. Le premier était le coupé Eclipse 2006, suivi de la camionnette Raider (É.-U.). Parmi les nouveaux modèles à venir citons un VUS Outlander de deuxième génération, une nouvelle berline Lancer et la dixième mouture de la légendaire Lancer Evolution. L'Eclipse Spyder 2007 fera son entrée dans les salles d'exposition des concessionnaires Mitsubishi en avril 2006. Le PDSF hors taxes et hors frais de transport pour la GS sera d'environ 36 000 $ CAD.

La garantie 10-5-5 Mitsubishi – Les véhicules les mieux protégés au monde

Tous les véhicules et utilitaires sport Mitsubishi sont protégés par une garantie 10-5-5 complète. Le groupe motopropulseur est protégé par une garantie limitée de 10 ans ou 160 000 km. La garantie limitée sur les véhicules neufs couvre la totalité du véhicule pendant 5 ans ou 100 000 km; les panneaux de carrosserie bénéficient d'une garantie limitée de 7 ans ou 160 000 km contre les perforations causées par la corrosion. Ce programme comprend également une assistance routière 24 heures par jour, 7 jours par semaine, avec remorquage sans frais chez le concessionnaire Mitsubishi autorisé le plus près pour les réparations au titre de la garantie pendant 5 ans ou kilométrage illimité.

-30-

Personne-ressource des médias
Michelle Lee-Gracey
Mitsubishi Motor Sales of Canada
Manager, Public Relations
michelle.lee-gracey@mmcan.ca