Eclipse Coupe
Related Images (9)
View All

The 2011 Eclipse Coupe: The template for the ideal luxury sports car

New model year brings styling upgrade as well as more safety and convenience.

MISSISSAUGA, ON (May 5, 2010) – Well known for its striking profile and truly impressive good looks, the Mitsubishi Eclipse Coupe for 2011 introduces model specific styling upgrades plus new safety and convenience features.

The brilliantly refined 2011 Mitsubishi Eclipse Coupe is a two door, four passenger, front wheel drive, high performance Grand Touring/Sports car that has few peers. Available in two distinct models, each with different engine/transmission combinations, the Eclipse Coupe combines exotic good looks, civilized luxury, superb engineering, outstanding performance and tremendous value – may the good times roll.

What’s New for 2011

Available Models: Eclipse GS Coupe; Eclipse GS Coupe with Sun & Sound Package; Eclipse GT-P Coupe – 2 door coupes.

There are no major mechanical changes for the 2011 model year.

All models: Auxiliary audio input jack; Lowered Suspension (-15mm); Blacked-out roof panel (painted steel roof)

GS Coupe/GS Coupe with S&S: Two-tone front and rear bumper fascias; Dual exhaust; 18” alloy wheels; Active Stability Control (ASC); Traction Control (TCL)

GS Coupe with S&S/GT–P Coupe: Bluetooth® hands-free phone system; Rear view camera system

Driveline Packages

The GS Coupe is powered by Mitsubishi’s acclaimed 2.4 litre, 16 valve, SOHC four cylinder engine equipped with MIVEC technology and producing 162 hp @ 6000 rpm and 162 lb-ft of torque @ 4000 rpm for excellent overall performance and fuel economy. Eclipse GT-P models come with a 3.8-litre, 24 valve, SOHC V6, also enhanced by the MIVEC system, which produces 265 hp @ 5750 rpm and 262 lb-ft of torque @ 4500 rpm, providing superior acceleration and instant throttle response at all times. Available transmissions include a standard 5 speed manual or optional 4 speed Sportronic® automatic for the GS model, and a 6 speed manual or optional 5 speed Sportronic® automatic for the more performance oriented GT-P.

Chassis & Safety

The unibody structure used for the 2011 Eclipse Coupe is both strong and rigid. It employs high tensile strength steel panels to reduce body weight and increase body rigidity, as well as straight frame rails. This RISE (Reinforced Impact Safety Evolution) unibody disperses energy loads during side and rear collisions and controls distortion, enhancing occupant protection and helping to protect the fuel system in the event of a rear impact. In addition, this exceptionally robust structure is a key factor in ride quality, handling performance and feel, plus overall refinement and safety.

Standard safety equipment includes advanced driver and front passenger airbags with Dual Stage inflators and driver’s seat position occupant sensors, front passenger seat occupant weight sensors, front seat mounted side-impact airbags, and front side curtain airbags. All seating positions have 3-point safety belts. Front seats have height adjustable shoulder anchors plus pretentioners and force limiters for the front safety belts. Additional safety features include side impact door protectors, a LATCH system for CRS, an engine immobilizer and anti theft system and a tire pressure monitoring system.

Fade resistant four wheel disc brakes are standard. Large front ventilated discs complement solid discs on the GS and ventilated discs on the GT-P for the rear. All models feature Anti-lock Braking (ABS) with Electronic Brakeforce Distribution (EBD), Traction Control (TCL) and Active Stability Control (ASC).

Suspension & Steering

Eclipse Coupe features a MacPherson strut type independent front suspension which employs a strut tower bar to enhance lateral rigidity for improved steering response. The rear suspension is an advanced multilink and coil system that provides an excellent balance of handling and ride comfort. Stabilizer bars are used at both the front and rear. Steering is power assisted and uses a rack and pinion system with 2.64 turns lock to lock. In the interest of better handling, ride quality and good looks, all Eclipse Coupe models feature beautiful 18 inch Lipless alloy 7 spoke wheels and P235/45R18 all season tires.

Comfort & Convenience

The 2011 Eclipse Coupe combines high performance, breakthrough technology and stunning styling with a level of standard equipment rarely found on vehicles in its price range. The purposeful cockpit is a driver oriented, futuristic design. Large, easy to read white on black instruments and gauges feature exotic, Ice Blue nighttime illumination. The wave-form shaped instrument panel and dash houses convenient, intuitive, ergonomic controls. The centre stack features a climate and audio control area designed to resemble a modern entertainment interface. A leather style wrapped steering wheel is complemented by a leather style wrapped shift knob. One piece high back front buckets have open headrests for a sporty look and enhanced rear visibility. New for 2011 are a blacked out roof panel, two tone front and rear bumper facias (for GS) and an auxiliary audio input jack. Base GS models sport a 140W AM/FM/CD/MP3 audio system with 6 speakers. GS models with Sun & Sound and GT P models feature a Bluetooth® hands-free phone system, a rear view camera plus a 650W Rockford Fosgate® premium audio system with 6 disc, in dash, CD/MP3 player, PUNCH® Audio Dynamics, nine speakers including an 10” subwoofer, steering wheel mounted audio controls and Sirius® satellite radio with six months complimentary service. Additional standard features for GT P models include auto-off high intensity discharge (HID) projector-type headlamps, a large body coloured rear spoiler with stop lamp, automatic climate control, leather seating surfaces and an eight way adjustable – six way power – driver’s seat.

A more complete list of key standard and luxury features on the Eclipse Coupe is available in the 2011 Eclipse Coupe Highlights document.

Mitsubishi “10-5-5” Warranty – Best Backed Cars in the World

Mitsubishi cars and sport utility vehicles are backed by a comprehensive “10-5-5” warranty. The powertrain is covered by a 10 year or 160,000 km limited warranty. The new vehicle limited warranty is covered for 5 years or 100,000 km. Lancer Evolution, Lancer Sportback Ralliart and Lancer Ralliart are backed by a comprehensive "5-3-5" warranty. The powertrain is covered by a 5 year or 100,000 km limited warranty. The new vehicle limited warranty is covered for 3 years or 60,000 km. The program also includes, on all Mitsubishi cars and sport utility vehicles, 24/7 emergency roadside assistance with free towing to the nearest authorized Mitsubishi retailer for warranty related repairs, for 5 years and unlimited km and an anti-corrosion/perforation limited warranty for any body sheet metal panel found to have developed perforation (metal rust-through) due to corrosion in normal use for 5 years and unlimited km.

-30-

Media Contact
John Arnone
Manager, Public Relations

Eclipse Coupe
Photos connexes (9)
Tout voir
13 mai 2010 N° d'ID: 13392
Diffusion immédiate

The 2011 Eclipse Coupe: The template for the ideal luxury sports car

La nouvelle année modèle comporte des mises à jour stylistiques et de nombreuses caractéristiques de sécurité et de commodité.

MISSISSAUGA, ON (Le 5 mai 2010) – Bien connue pour son profil élégant et son allure réellement époustouflante, l’Eclipse Coupé 2011 de Mitsubishi comporte des mises à jour stylistiques spécifiques à ce modèle et de nombreuses nouvelles caractéristiques de sécurité et de commodité.

Une voiture à deux portières extrêmement raffinée, l’Eclipse Coupé 2011 de Mitsubishi est une voiture de sport tourisme à traction avant et quatre places exceptionnelle. Proposée en deux modèles distincts avec des groupes motopropulseurs différents, l’Eclipse Coupé allie une allure exotique, un luxe civilisé, une ingénierie formidable, des performances hors du commun et un rapport qualité-prix exceptionnel, pour la joie pure et simple de la conduite.

Quoi de neuf en 2011

Modèles disponibles : Eclipse Coupé GS, Eclipse Coupé GS avec groupe soleil et musique, Eclipse Coupé GT-P – coupés à deux portières.

Il n’y a aucune modification mécanique majeure pour le modèle 2011.

Tous les modèles : prise d’entrée auxiliaire; suspension abaissée (- 15 mm); panneau de toit noirci (toit en acier peint)

Coupé GS/Coupé GS avec groupe soleil et musique : pare-chocs bicolores à l’avant et à l’arrière; deux embouts d’échappement; jantes en alliage de 18 po; contrôle actif de stabilité; antipatinage

Coupé GS/Coupé GS avec groupe soleil et musique/Coupé GT-P : téléphonie mains libres Bluetooth(; caméra de recul

Groupes motopropulseurs

L’Eclipse Coupé GS est propulsé par le célèbre moteur Mitsubishi de 2,4 litres, MIVEC, à SACT, 16 soupapes et 4 cylindres qui produit une puissance de 162 chevaux à 6 000 tr/min, ainsi qu’un couple de 162 lb-pi à 4 000 tr/min, assurant de bonnes performances et une faible consommation d’essence. Les modèles Eclipse GT-P, quant à eux, sont propulsés par un moteur V6 de 3,8 litres à 24 soupapes, SACT et MIVEC. Il produit une puissance étonnante de 265 chevaux à 5 750 tr/min et un couple de 262 lb-pi à 4 500 tr/min, une accélération époustouflante et une réponse de l’accélérateur instantanée à tous les régimes. Une boîte manuelle à 5 vitesses est disponible de série et une boîte automatique Sportronic® à 4 vitesses est offerte en option sur le modèle GS. Le modèle GT-P est muni de série d’une boîte manuelle à 6 vitesses ou propose une boîte automatique Sportronic® à 5 vitesses en option.

Châssis et sécurité

La structure monocoque de l’Eclipse Coupé 2011 est incroyablement résistante et rigide. Les panneaux en acier très résistant à la traction et les longerons droits réduisent le poids de la carrosserie tout en contribuant à la robustesse et à la rigidité du châssis. La structure monocoque RISE (évolution de sécurité d’impact renforcée) absorbe l’énergie, en cas de collisions latérales et arrière, et contrôle la déformation, protégeant davantage les occupants et le réservoir de carburant en cas de collision arrière. Ce châssis est d’ailleurs le secret d’une excellente tenue de route, d’une grande précision de la direction, ainsi que d’une sécurité à la tête de sa catégorie.

Les équipements de sécurité de série incluent deux coussins gonflables avant à deux vitesses de déploiement, des capteurs de position du siège du conducteur, des capteurs de présence sur le siège du passager, deux coussins gonflables latéraux montés dans les sièges avant et deux coussins gonflables latéraux de type rideau. Tous les occupants sont retenus par des ceintures de sécurité à 3 points d’attache. Les ceintures de sécurité avant sont réglables en hauteur et ajoutent des prétendeurs et des limiteurs de charge. Parmi les caractéristiques de sécurité supplémentaires, on trouve les poutrelles de protection latérale dans les portières, des dispositifs LATCH protégeant la sécurité des enfants, un antidémarreur antivol, un système antivol et le système de surveillance de la pression des pneus.

Les freins à disques résistants à l’effacement sont offerts de série. Les gros freins à disques ventilés à l’avant complètent les disques pleins sur la GS et les disques arrière ventilés sur la GT-P. À cela s’ajoutent les freins antiblocage (ABS) et la répartition électronique de la force de freinage de série, l’antipatinage et le contrôle actif de stabilité.

Suspension et direction

L’Eclipse Coupé est dotée d’une suspension avant indépendante à jambes de force MacPherson avec barre antirapprochement pour accroître la rigidité latérale et améliorer la réponse de la direction. La suspension arrière à bras multiples et ressorts hélicoïdaux offre un équilibre idéal entre la maniabilité et le confort. Des barres stabilisatrices sont placées à l’avant et à l’arrière. La direction est assistée à pignon et crémaillère et tourne 2,64 fois d’une butée à l’autre. Pour améliorer la maniabilité, la qualité de la conduite et l’allure générale, tous les modèles Eclipse Coupé sont munis d’élégantes jantes en alliage sans rebords de 18 pouces à 7 rayons, avec des pneus P235/45R18 toutes saisons.

Confort et commodité

L’Eclipse Coupé 2011 offre des performances hors du commun, des technologies de pointe, une allure attrayante et un niveau d’équipements de série rarement trouvés sur les véhicules de ce prix. Le tableau de bord futuriste, orienté vers le conducteur, arbore des cadrans larges et éclairés la nuit d’une luminosité bleue glacée exotique. La planche de bord ondulée abrite des commandes ergonomiques et faciles à utiliser. Les commandes de température et de la radio placées sur la colonne centrale sont conçues pour ressembler à celle d’une interface moderne. Le volant sport gainé de cuir est assorti au pommeau du levier de vitesses gainé de cuir, lui aussi. Les sièges baquets avant à dossier haut intègrent des appuie-têtes ajourés sportifs qui améliorent la visibilité arrière. Les nouveautés pour 2011 sont le panneau de toit noirci, les pare-chocs avant et arrière bicolores (sur le modèle GS), et une prise audio auxiliaire. Les modèles GS de base comportent une chaîne audio AM/FM/CD/MP3 de 140 watts et 6 haut-parleurs. Les modèles GS avec groupe soleil et musique et les modèles GT-P, quant à eux, incluent la téléphonie mains libres Bluetooth®, une caméra de recul, une chaîne audio puissante Rockford Fosgate® Premium de 650 watts, un lecteur de 6 CD/MP3 dans la planche de bord, les dynamiques sonores PUNCH®, 9 haut-parleurs, dont celui des basses de 10 pouces, les commandes sur le volant et la radio satellite Sirius® avec un abonnement prépayé de 6 mois. Les modèles GT-P incluent, également de série, des phares avant à décharge à haute intensité (DHI) et à extinction automatique, un grand aileron arrière avec feu d’arrêt, un régulateur automatique de la température, des sièges en cuir, le siège du conducteur à 8 réglages (dont 6 réglages électriques).

Veuillez consulter le document sur les points saillants de l’Eclipse Coupé 2011 pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les équipements de série et en option.

La garantie « 10-5-5 » de Mitsubishi : les voitures les mieux protégées au monde

Chaque voiture et véhicule utilitaire sport de Mitsubishi est couvert par une garantie complète « 10-5-5 ». Le groupe motopropulseur est couvert par une garantie limitée de 10 ans ou 160 000 km. La garantie limitée sur le véhicule neuf couvre tout le véhicule pendant 5 ans ou 100 000 km. Les seules exceptions sont les Lancer Evolution, Lancer Ralliart et Lancer Sportback Ralliart, qui sont couvertes par une garantie complète « 5-3-5 ». Le groupe motopropulseur est couvert par une garantie limitée de 5 ans ou 100 000 km. La garantie limitée sur le véhicule neuf est valide pendant 3 ans ou 60 000 km. Chaque voiture et véhicule utilitaire sport de Mitsubishi reçoit également l’assistance routière d’urgence 24 h/7 jours, incluant le remorquage sans frais jusqu’au concessionnaire Mitsubishi agréé le plus proche, pendant 5 ans et sans limites de kilométrage. De plus, les panneaux de la carrosserie ont une garantie limitée de 5 ans, sans limites de kilométrage, contre la corrosion ou la perforation (rouille causant un trou dans la tôle) apparaissant dans des situations normales d’utilisation.

-30-

Personne-ressource des médias
Michelle Lee-Gracey
Mitsubishi Motor Sales of Canada
Manager, Public Relations
michelle.lee-gracey@mmcan.ca