Eclipse Coupe
Related Images (55)
View All
Sep 08, 2006 ID: 309
Immediate Release

2006 Eclipse Coupe - Model Overview

MISSISSAUGA, Ont. – Leading the Mitsubishi resurgence in 2006 is the brilliantly conceived all new Eclipse Coupe. Its striking, taut profile and exotic good looks are sure to turn heads everywhere. Completely redesigned from the ground up and built expressly for the North American market, this two door, four passenger, high performance luxury sports car is available in two trim levels, the fully featured Eclipse GS and the muscular 263 horsepower Eclipse GT V6.

Eclipse for 2006 represents advances in styling, engine output and ride comfort. Conceived to combine head turning design and performance with the utility of a daily driver, the new two door Eclipse coupe sports an impressive power range, room for four adults and several new safety and luxury amenities, without sacrificing the incredible value that the Eclipse name has come to represent.

“The 2006 Mitsubishi Eclipse is a thrilling new model in this segment,” said Paul Cummings, President and CEO of Mitsubishi Motor Sales of Canada Inc. “On one hand it’s a pavement ripping sports car with more horsepower than a Mustang V6, and on the other hand it’s a refined, luxurious Grand Touring coupe with excellent ride and handling characteristics.”

A State of the Art Chassis

For 2006 Eclipse’s unibody structure is stronger and more rigid. Every opening, including doors, hatch and engine compartment, has been reinforced to help resist the bending and twisting forces exerted on an automobile. Its body employs high tensile strength steel panels to reduce body weight and increase body rigidity, as well as new straight frame rails. This exceptionally robust structure is the key to ride quality, handling performance and feel, plus overall refinement and safety.

Exterior – Stunning Comes to Mind

The Eclipse’s exterior design makes a bold visual statement distinguishing itself from the traditional and conservative. Its athletic fender arches, wind tunnel inspired front fascia and long, arching C-pillar help the Eclipse carve out its own unique style. Purposeful front and rear fenders help communicate an image of stability and power. Its strong visual silhouette is wedge shaped, highlighted by a forward cab and trim waistline that screams athlete. From the front, the larger fenders help accommodate the wide track and reinforce the Eclipse’s hunkered down stance, while air intakes in the front fascia convey an image of purpose. An added benefit of this sleek interior is a low coefficient of drag.

Interior – Harmony with Function

The cockpit of the new Eclipse is a driver oriented, futuristic design. Its dashboard is composed of a sculpted, modern form housing intuitive controls for driver and passenger. The centre dash features a climate and audio control stack designed to resemble a modern audio interface. Prominent is a signature Mitsubishi LCD display providing audio, time and directional information. At night, gauges and control knobs are illuminated with striking ice-blue LED lamps that help create a sophisticated ambience. Attractive one piece sport seats provide superior comfort and support. They are covered in cloth or available leather and feature deep accent lines to emphasize their appearance.

Drivetrain – Ideal Choices

The 2006 Eclipse is powered by one of two excellent engines. The GS Coupe employs Mitsubishi’s acclaimed 2.4 litre, SOHC, 16 valve, MIVEC 4 cylinder engine, producing 162 hp @ 6000 rpm and 162 lb ft of torque @ 4000 rpm. The MIVEC system (Mitsubishi Innovative Valve timing and lift Electronic Control) makes use of different sized camshaft lobes to vary valve lift and duration, producing optimum power at all engine speeds, and ensuring that Eclipse GS achieves a high level of performance. This flexible engine is mated to a smooth shifting 5 speed manual transmission or an optional Sportronic™ sequential shift 4 speed automatic.

The Eclipse GT Coupe is well suited to those who enjoy brute power with their luxury. The GT features a 3.8 litre, 60 degree, aluminum head, SOHC, 24 valve V6 engine, also enhanced by the MIVEC system. Rated at 263 horsepower @ 5750 rpm and 260 lb-ft of torque @ 4500 rpm, this willing V6 provides significant power and tremendous torque throughout the rev range. Revised ignition timing and an improved EGR (Exhaust Gas Recovery) rate provide improved fuel economy over the previous V6 engine. And additional rigidity incorporated into the 3.8 litre block and the engine mounting areas, brings a reduction in NVH (Noise Vibration and Harshness).

The 3.8 litre V6 engine is mated to a either new, smooth shifting 6-speed manual transmission or a sophisticated 5-speed automatic transmission with Sportronic™ mode. Sportronic™ allows the spirited driver to manually control clutchless shifts with the simple push or pull of the shift lever.

Suspension & Steering

The Eclipse’s fully independent suspension was designed to provide superior stability, excellent ride quality and precise, predictable handling. The front end uses MacPherson struts with the addition of a large rigid cross member to help control torsional flexing. The rear utilizes a multi-link configuration with trailing arms and coil springs. Anti-sway bars are employed at both front and rear. The Eclipse’s wide (1570 mm) front and rear track provide superior stability and control. In the interest of handling and ride quality Eclipse is equipped with attractive 17”, 5 spoke aluminum wheels with 225/50R17 V-rated tires or optional 18”, 7 spoke aluminum wheels wrapped in 235/45R18 V-rated tires. The Eclipse utilizes a proven rack-and-pinion power steering design which provides direct feeling and response, while effort multiplication allows low speed steering control that makes parking and tight maneuvering easy.

Safety and Brakes

Standard safety equipment includes advanced driver and front passenger airbags with Dual Stage inflators and driver’s seat position occupant sensors, front passenger seat occupant weight sensors, front seat mounted side-impact airbags, and front side curtain airbags. All seating positions have 3 point safety belts. Front seats have height adjustable shoulder anchors plus pretentioners and force limiters for the front safety belts.

Four wheel disc brakes are standard on every Eclipse. The large front ventilated discs measure 294mm in diameter. Rear brakes are 262mm solid discs on the GS, and 284mm ventilated discs on the GT. Coupled with standard anti-lock braking (ABS) and electronic brakeforce distribution (EBD), the Eclipse’s powerful, fade resistant brakes provide excellent control during high speed braking and on rain soaked or low traction roads.

Eclipse GS Coupe

The new Mitsubishi Eclipse GS sporty coupe combines high performance, cutting-edge technology and handsome styling with a level of standard equipment features not normally found on vehicles in its price range. Performance features include four-wheel disc brakes, an anti-lock braking system, 17-inch aluminum alloy wheels and 225/50R V-Rated all season tires. Comfort and convenience features include remote keyless entry with trunk opener, solar-control glass, height-adjustable driver’s seat, power windows and door locks, six-way adjustable heated front seats with adjustable lumbar support, 50/50 split fold-down rear seatback and sport fabric interior. The intuitive center stack contains controls for a 140-watt, six-speaker AM/FM/CD/MP3 audio system and electronic air conditioning.

Sun & Sound Package for GS

An optional Sun & Sound Package is available for the Eclipse GS. It includes a one touch power sunroof; Centre LCD display for time, audio, compass, external temperature; Electrochromic auto-dimming rearview mirror; 650W Rockford Fosgate 6 CD/MP3 audio system with 9 speakers including 10” subwoofer, PUNCH Audio Dynamics, with steering wheel mounted controls.

Eclipse GT Coupe

The Eclipse GT adds to the standard equipment level found on the GS and takes performance and sophistication to levels expected only on the most expensive sports cars. A key feature is its 263 hp, 3.8 litre MIVEC V6 that generates 260 lb-ft of torque. This refined, silky smooth, free revving V6 mated to either a six-speed manual or a five-speed Sportronic™ transmission, delivers ferocious acceleration at all times, competitive with other high performance sports cars costing thousand of dollars more. Other GT features include bigger brakes, traction control with an on/off switch, integrated fog lamps, stainless steel exhaust tips. Optional for GT only is a leather package, driver’s power seat and 18” 7-spoke alloy wheels with P235/45R V-Rated performance tires.

Premium Sport Package for GT

A Premium Sport Package also is available on the Eclipse GT. The package includes : One touch power sunroof; Electrochromic auto-dimming rearview mirror; 650W Rockford Fosgate 6 CD/MP3 audio system with 9 speakers including 10” subwoofer, PUNCH Audio Dynamics, with steering wheel mounted controls; Automatic climate control; Leather surfaced front seats; Power adjustable drivers seat; Aluminum pedals; 18” seven spoke alloy wheels.

Premium Audio

Mitsubishi Motors and Rockford Corporation have teamed up to offer a high fidelity/high output Rockford Fosgate audio system. The Eclipse’s optional premium audio system features 650W amplification with nine speakers including a 10”, long throw subwoofer in a fiberglass reinforced acoustic suspension enclosure. The 6-disc, in-dash CD changer also plays MP3 files. In addition to the usual bass, midrange, treble, fader and balance controls, the Eclipse’s advanced Digital Signal Processor (DSP) gives the user total control over the subwoofer “Punch” level. It offers custom music genre equalizer settings and sound field image settings including: Normal, Stage, Live and Hall. The Rockford Fosgate system also offers an industry first DSP sound setting memory function that allows users to configure all eight DSP settings and save them in six preset locations for their favorite CDs, artists, or music genres

Mitsubishi “10-5-5” Warranty – Best Backed Cars in the World

All Mitsubishi cars and sport utility vehicles are backed by a comprehensive “10 5 5” warranty. The powertrain is covered by a 10 year or 160,000 km limited warranty. The new vehicle limited warranty covers from bumper to bumper for 5 years or 100,000 km and the body panels have a 7 year or 160,000 km anti corrosion/perforation limited warranty. The program also includes 24/7 emergency roadside assistance with free towing to the nearest authorized Mitsubishi retailer for warranty related repairs, for 5 years and unlimited km.

-30-

Media Contact
John Arnone
Manager, Public Relations

Eclipse Coupe
Photos connexes (55)
Tout voir
08 sept. 2006 N° d'ID: 309
Diffusion immédiate

2006 Eclipse Coupe - Model Overview

MISSISSAUGA, Ontario. – À la tête du nouvel essor de Mitsubishi en 2006 se trouve le coupé Eclipse brillamment conçu. Ses lignes racées et sa belle allure exotique attireront à coup sûr les regards. Entièrement redessinée et conçue expressément pour le marché nord-américain, cette voiture sport de luxe très performante, deux portes, quatre passagers, est offerte en deux niveaux de garniture, l’Eclipse GS toute équipée et la musclée Eclipse GT avec un V6 qui développe 263 ch.

En 2006, l’Eclipse réalise une percée en matière de style, de puissance du moteur et de douceur de roulement. Combinant conception saisissante, performance et aspect utilitaire d'un véhicule de tous les jours, le nouveau coupé Eclipse deux portes offre une puissance impressionnante, de l'espace suffisant pour accueillir confortablement quatre personnes, de nouveaux équipements luxueux et de sécurité, sans toutefois sacrifier la valeur incroyable que représente désormais le nom « Eclipse ».

« L’Éclipse 2006 de Mitsubishi est un nouveau modèle excitant de ce segment, déclare Paul Cummings, président et chef de la direction, Ventes de véhicules Mitsubishi du Canada, inc. D’un côté, il s’agit d’une voiture sport épatante qui offre plus de puissance qu’une Mustang V6, et de l'autre, c’est un coupé grand tourisme luxueux et raffiné avec d'excellentes caractéristiques de conduite et de tenue de route. »

Châssis d’avant-garde

En 2006, la carrosserie monocoque de l’Eclipse est renforcée et plus rigide. Chaque ouverture, y compris les portes, le hayon et le compartiment moteur, a été renforcée pour résister à la flexion et à la torsion qui s’exercent sur une voiture. La carrosserie emploie des panneaux d’acier hautement résistant à la traction qui permettent de réduire le poids et d’augmenter la rigidité, ainsi que de nouveaux longerons droits. Cette structure exceptionnellement robuste est l'élément clé de la qualité de roulement, de la tenue de route, de la performance et de la perception de la route, en plus du raffinement général et de la sécurité.

Extérieur – Tout simplement sensationnel

La conception extérieure de l’Eclipse crée une impression visuelle qui en dit long sur son audace; elle se démarque en effet des voitures à l’allure traditionnelle et conservatrice. Ses arches d'aile « athlétiques », son carénage avant aérodynamique et son long pied arrière en arc contribuent à donner à l’Eclipse un style unique. Les ailes avant et arrière bien conçues aident à communiquer une image de puissance et de sécurité. Sa silhouette impressionnante est taillée en biseau, rehaussée par un habitacle et une ceinture de caisse qui mettent en évidence son allure sportive. À l’avant, les grandes ailes intègrent bien la voie large et renforcent l’allure abaissée de l’Eclipse, tandis que les admissions d'air dans le carénage avant véhiculent une image de détermination. De plus, ces lignes élégantes possèdent un faible coefficient de traînée.

Intérieur – Harmonie et commodité

Le poste de pilotage de la nouvelle Eclipse est avant-gardiste et axé sur le conducteur. Son tableau de bord est composé d’un groupe de commandes intuitives central relevé et moderne, pour le conducteur et le passager. La section centrale du tableau est composée d'un groupe de commandes de climatisation et du système audio conçu pour ressembler à une interface audio moderne. Un module d’affichage central à cristaux liquides propre à Mitsubishi est en évidence; il fournit des renseignements sur le système audio, l’heure et la direction. La nuit, les indicateurs, les boutons et les commandes intérieures sont éclairés par des lampes DEL d'un bleu glacé séduisant qui aident à créer une ambiance intérieure élégante. Les sièges sport attrayants offrent un confort et un soutien de qualité supérieure. Ils sont recouverts de tissu ou de cuir en option et ils arborent des lignes de démarcation profondes qui mettent en valeur leur élégance.

Groupe motopropulseur – Des choix optimaux

L’Eclipse 2006 est propulsée par l’un des deux excellents moteurs ci-dessous : Le coupé GS emploie le célèbre moteur 4 cylindres MIVEC de 2,4 L à 16 soupapes et SACT, qui développe une puissance de 162 ch à 6 000 tr/min et un couple de 162 lb-pi à 4 000 tr/min. Le système MIVEC (système de commande électronique de calage et levée des soupapes innovateur de Mitsubishi) emploie des bossages d'arbre à cames de différentes grandeurs pour faire varier la levée et la durée de levée des soupapes, produisant ainsi une puissance optimale à tous les régimes de moteur et assurant un haut niveau de performance de l’Eclipse GS. Ce moteur souple est jumelé à une boîte manuelle 5 vitesses à passages en douceur ou à une boîte automatique 4 vitesses à commande séquentielle SportronicMD.

Le coupé Eclipse GT convient à ceux qui apprécient le mariage puissance brute et luxe. Le modèle GT est équipé d’un moteur V6 incliné à 60 degrés de 3,8 L à 24 soupapes et SACT aussi muni du système MIVEC. Évalué à 263 ch à 5 750 tr/min et 260 lb-pi à 4 500 tr/min, ce moteur V6 performant développe une puissance considérable et un très grand couple pour toute la gamme de régimes. Le calage d’allumage révisé et le taux de recyclage des gaz d'échappement (RGE) perfectionné permettent d’obtenir une meilleure économie de carburant comparativement aux anciens moteurs V6. L’augmentation de la rigidité du bloc et des pièces de montage du moteur de 3,8 L a entraîné une réduction du bruit, des vibrations et des secousses.

Le moteur V6 de 3,8 L est jumelé à une boîte manuelle 6 vitesses à passages en douceur ou à une boîte automatique 5 vitesses sophistiquée avec mode SportronicMD. Ce mode permet aux conducteurs passionnés d'effectuer manuellement des passages sans embrayage avec une simple poussée ou traction du levier de vitesses.

Suspension et direction

La suspension entièrement indépendante de l’Eclipse a été pensée pour assurer une stabilité et une qualité de roulement supérieures et une tenue de route précise et prévisible. On trouve à l’avant des jambes de force MacPherson en plus de larges traverses rigides qui aident à contrôler la torsion. La suspension arrière utilise une configuration multibras avec bras de torsion et ressorts hélicoïdaux. Les barres stabilisatrices sont utilisées à l’avant et à l’arrière. Les voies larges (1 570 mm) à l’avant et à l’arrière de l’Eclipse confèrent à ce véhicule une stabilité et une tenue de route supérieures. À des fins de qualité de maniabilité et de roulement, l’Eclipse est équipée de roues en aluminium de 17 po à 5 branches, avec des pneus de taille 225/50R17 à cote de vitesse V ou les pneus de 18 po en option, de taille 235/45R18 à cote de vitesse V. L’Eclipse utilise une direction assistée à crémaillère éprouvée qui offre une impression de réaction et de contrôle directs, tandis que le système de multiplication d'effort assure la maîtrise de la voiture à faible vitesse, ce qui facilite les manœuvres de stationnement et de conduite.

Sécurité et freins

L’équipement de sécurité de série comprend les sacs gonflables avant de pointe à déploiement adapté et les capteurs de position du siège du conducteur, les détecteurs d'occupation du siège du passager avant, les sacs gonflables latéraux aux sièges avant et les rideaux gonflables latéraux avant. Des ceintures de sécurité à 3 points sont installées à toutes les places. Les sièges avant possèdent des ancrages de baudrier réglables en hauteur et des prétendeurs avec des limiteurs d'effort pour les ceintures avant.

Des freins à disque aux 4 roues font partie de l’équipement de série de chaque Eclipse. Les grands disques ventilés avant mesurent 294 mm de diamètre. Les freins arrière sont composés de disques pleins de 262 mm pour le modèle GS, et de disques ventilés de 284 mm pour le modèle GT. Jumelés au système de freinage antiblocage (ABS) et de répartition électronique de la force de freinage (EBD), les freins puissants et très résistants à l’évanouissement de l’Eclipse assurent un excellent contrôle de freinage en situation d'arrêt à haute vitesse et sur les chaussées mouillées ou à faible adhérence.

Coupé Eclipse GS

Le nouveau coupé sport Eclipse GS de Mitsubishi combine haute performance, technologie de pointe et style élégant, avec un niveau d'équipement en série non retrouvé normalement dans les véhicules vendus à ce prix. Les caractéristique de performance comprennent des freins à disque aux quatre roues, un système de freinage antiblocage (ABS), des roues en alliage d’aluminium de 17 po et des pneus toutes saisons 225/50R cote V. Les caractéristiques de confort et de commodité comprennent le télédéverrouillage avec ouverture du coffre, des glaces teintées thermoréfléchissantes, un siège réglable en hauteur côté conducteur, des lève-glaces et verrouillage des portes à commande électrique, des sièges chauffants à l’avant avec réglage en six directions et réglage du support lombaire, une banquette arrière à dossier divisé 50/50 et un intérieur en tissu sport. À l’intérieur, la colonne centrale abrite les commandes du système audio AM/FM/CD/MP3 de 140 watts et six haut-parleurs, ainsi que celles du système électronique de climatisation.

Ensemble soleil et son pour l’Eclipse GS

L’ensemble soleil et son est livrable en option sur le modèle Eclipse GS. Il comprend ce qui suit : toit ouvrant électrique à commande monotouche; centre d’information à cristaux liquides avec boussole et affichage de l’heure, du système audio et de la température extérieure; rétroviseur intérieur à coloration électrochimique; système audio Rockford Fosgate de 650 W avec changeur de 6 CD compatible MP3 et 9 haut-parleurs, y compris un haut-parleur d’extrêmes graves de 10 po, modes audio dynamiques PUNCH et commandes au volant

Coupé Eclipse GT

L’Eclipse GT ajoute au niveau d’équipement de série du modèle GS et atteint des niveaux de performance et de raffinement retrouvés uniquement dans les voitures sport les plus dispendieuses. L’un de ses équipements clés est le moteur V6 MIVEC de 3,8 L, 263 ch qui développe un couple de 260 lb-pi. Ce moteur V6 nerveux, raffiné et des plus doux, jumelé à une boîte manuelle six vitesses ou à une boîte cinq vitesses SportronicMD, produit une accélération très puissante en tout temps, concurrentielle avec celle des autres voitures sport de haute performance qui coûtent des milliers de dollars en surplus. Les autres équipements du modèle GT comprennent les suivants : plus gros freins, système antipatinage avec commutateur marche-arrêt, phares antibrouillard intégrés et embouts en acier inoxydable. Ces caractéristiques sont offertes en option uniquement pour le modèle GT : ensemble cuir, siège du conducteur réglable, roues de 18 po en alliage à 7 branches avec pneus de performance P235/45R à cote de vitesse V.

Ensemble haut de gamme sport pour l’Eclipse GT

Un ensemble haut de gamme sport est aussi offert en option pour l’Eclipse GT. Cela comprend : toit ouvrant électrique à commande monotouche; rétroviseur intérieur à coloration électrochimique; système audio Rockford Fosgate de 650 W avec changeur de 6 CD compatible MP3 et 9 haut-parleurs, dont un haut-parleur d’extrêmes graves de 10 po, modes audio dynamiques PUNCH et commandes au volant; climatisation à régulation automatique; sièges avant avec assise en cuir; siège du conducteur à réglage électrique; pédales en aluminium; roues en alliage de 18 po à 7 branches

Système audio de catégorie supérieure

Mitsubishi et Rockford Corporation ont fait équipe pour offrir un système audio Rockford Fosgate haute fidélité très puissant. Le système audio de catégorie supérieure de l'Eclipse comprend une amplification de 650 W avec neuf haut-parleurs, y compris un haut-parleur d'extrêmes graves grande portée de 10 po dans une enceinte à suspension acoustique renforcée de fibre de verre. Le changeur de 6 CD au tableau de bord peut aussi lire des fichiers MP3. En plus des commandes des basses, des moyennes, des aiguës, de l’équilibrage avant/arrière et de l'équilibre sonore, le traitement numérique des signaux (DSP) perfectionné de l’Eclipse donne à l'utilisateur le contrôle total du mode « Punch » du haut-parleur d'extrêmes graves. Il offre les réglages pour les genres musicaux personnalisés et réglages de sonorité, incluant : Normal, Stage (scène), Live (en direct) et Hall (salle de concert). Le système audio Rockford Fosgate offre également une fonction de mémoire des réglages de sonorité pour le traitement numérique des signaux (DSP), une première dans l'industrie, qui permet à un utilisateur de configurer les huit réglages DSP et de les mettre en mémoire sous six positions préprogrammées pour leurs CD, artistes ou genres de musique préférés.

La garantie 10-5-5 Mitsubishi – Les véhicules les mieux protégés au monde

Tous les véhicules et utilitaires sport Mitsubishi sont protégés par une nouvelle garantie limitée 10-5-5 complète sur les véhicules neufs Mitsubishi pendant 5 ans ou 100 000 kilomètres. De plus, le groupe motopropulseur est couvert par une garantie limitée de 10 ans ou 160 000 kilomètres, tandis que la garantie limitée pour les panneaux de carrosserie est de 7 ans ou 160 000 km contre les perforations causées par la corrosion. Ce programme comprend également une assistance routière 24 heures par jour, 7 jours par semaine, avec remorquage sans frais chez le concessionnaire Mitsubishi autorisé le plus près pour les réparations au titre de la garantie pendant 5 ans ou kilométrage illimité.

-30-

Personne-ressource des médias
Michelle Lee-Gracey
Mitsubishi Motor Sales of Canada
Manager, Public Relations
michelle.lee-gracey@mmcan.ca